Archive

Archive for March 21, 2012

What a ravioli-ting development!

Last week, I got a bag of frozen spinach-and-cheese ravioli at the store, and I failed to realize how big it was before I dumped the whole thing into the pot.  (It’s been a while since I had ravioli, so I’m a little rusty.  I was thinking in terms of those smaller packages that are only 2-3 servings.)  So I ended up with a whooollle lotta leftover ravioli in the fridge, four meals’ worth in addition to the first helping I had.  Thus, I’ve spent the past several days trying to devise a different topping for each one.

I had the first helping with alfredo sauce (so I could finish off the jar), which was okay.  But for the second, I decided to do something experimental as a way of using up some more leftovers.  Earlier I’d gotten a jar of vegetarian Cincinnati-style chili, which I hadn’t enjoyed too much in the context of a 4-way (served atop spaghetti with diced onions and grated cheddar) or a cheese coney (same toppings on a hot dog), but that was reasonably good when I got a can of kidney beans to make a 5-way (which should be self-explanatory at this point).  But that left me with a lot of leftover kidney beans as well as chili, and I decided to top my second helping of ravioli with chili and beans.  Which worked surprisingly well, I thought.

The third serving was topped with red sauce and sauteed onions and green peppers — which was kind of disappointing, I think because that brand and variety of red sauce didn’t work well in that context.  The fourth was simply with olive oil, a chopped garlic clove, basil, and oregano, along with a salad.  That was rather good, particularly thanks to the garlic.  And today I had the final serving, which I had with the same red sauce (I usually only have one jar at a time), but I added turkey meatballs and peas to the mix and sprinkled on some parmesan.  That was actually pretty interesting too.  Though maybe not quite as interesting as the chili ravioli.

Now I’m finally out of leftover ravioli.  So what’s for supper…?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:

Nominations now open for Unreality SF Story of the Year award

The Unreality SF blog, which concentrates on SF/fantasy media tie-in fiction, is taking nominations for its annual Story of the Year award.  As they put it:

 Starting today, you can nominate three stories. At the end of the week, we’ll count up the suggestions to find the ten that are most popular.

Next Monday, we’ll post that final shortlist and give you seven days to pick one absolute favourite.

And then the authors of the first- and second-placed stories each get a block of glass with their name engraved in it.

This is for any licensed work of prose or comics tie-in fiction published between the start of March 2011 and the end of February 2012.  Two of my own works are eligible:

  • Star Trek: Department of Temporal Investigations: Watching the Clock, Pocket Books (May 2011).
  • Star Trek: Typhon Pact: The Struggle Within (eBook), Simon & Schuster Digital Sales Inc. (October 2011).

And if you need suggestions on how to fill that third nominating slot (or, heck, the first and second as well if you prefer), here are links to some of my fellow tie-in authors’ posts listing their eligible titles:

Keith R. A. DeCandido

David Mack

Dayton Ward

So go and do as you will with this information.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers