Home > Uncategorized > Aren’t improvements supposed to be better?

Aren’t improvements supposed to be better?

The New York Times has just “upgraded” its crosswords page, and every change they’ve made is, from my perspective, a change for the worse. There’s no longer a one-click option for downloading puzzles in AcrossLite. You have to scroll much farther down the page to get to the bonus puzzles. And there’s no longer a list of archived puzzles right there on the page — you have to click to a different page. Every one of those changes makes it less convenient for me. The new format looks like it was designed to be more vertical, probably for compatibility with smartphones and mobile devices. But it’s not a change for the better from my perspective.

Meanwhile, the Opera web browser I use has been upgrading frequently over the past several months, and each major upgrade seems to introduce more problems. For the last few editions, there’s been a glitch in page scrolling that causes the progress bar at the bottom to scroll with the page, or causes glitches or gaps in the display. None of the upgrades since has fixed it. And the latest upgrade has disabled my ability to use Ctrl-key combinations to toggle bold, italics, or underlining on the TrekBBS, the main bulletin board I frequent. It still works fine here on WordPress, but not there.

Let’s see, have any other recent “improvements” made things harder for me? Well, there’s Facebook, but that goes without saying. And I’m annoyed that the 2007 version of MS Word I’m now using as my primary word processor has cruder, more awkward table editing tools than the 2002 version of WordPerfect I recently stopped using.

Anyway, that’s enough griping. Sorry the blog’s been so quiet lately — I’ve got a tight deadline on my novel.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Eike Hein
    November 15, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Makes me wonder, is doing crosswords a thing with writers?

    • m2c studios
      November 19, 2012 at 4:27 am

      Sure. The way I see it is “people who like words”. And lots of writers also happen to like words :P

  2. m2c studios
    November 19, 2012 at 4:26 am

    Thanks for the update. I’ve been following your blog ever since I read “Friends with the Sparrows” and subsequently “The Buried Age” and many more of your books. (And other star trek fiction too. Currently “The Rise and Fall of Khan Noonien Singh, Volume 1″) Thanks for all the effort you put into keeping us in the loop and good luck with the book you’re working on.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

