Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > First Details on Abramsverse Novels (TrekMovie) (UPDATE: Link fixed)

First Details on Abramsverse Novels (TrekMovie) (UPDATE: Link fixed)

From TrekMovie.com, a brief item about the descriptions for the four Abramsverse Star Trek novels that are now up on Amazon.com:

http://trekmovie.com/2009/11/29/first-details-on-novels-set-in-new-movie-universe-star-trek-online-novel-tie-in-announced/

The summary for Seek a Newer World reads:

Enterprise under attack escapes and discovers an entire civilization also hiding as is the ship. Kirk decides to find out what are they hiding from.

Amazon’s description is about as accurate as it is grammatical.  Let’s say it’s in the ballpark.  But at this point, with the book still over half a year away, it’s too early for any better information to become available.  Including here, alas.

What can I tell you about SaNW?  Well, it was originally going to be the first original Abramsverse novel; indeed, when I was hired, it was the only one being planned, kind of a way of testing the waters.  So I approached it as pretty much a direct followup to the movie.  But Alan Dean Foster’s novelization did so well that Pocket decided to do more, and they wisely decided to lead off with a novel by Mr. Foster himself, whose name is bound to sell more copies than mine would.  (Though that’s good for me, since more bookstore orders for the book preceding mine means more orders for mine.  I’ll probably sell more copies in Mr. Foster’s wake than I would’ve on my own.  I’m also looking forward to Refugees because it will be the first full-length original Star Trek novel Mr. Foster’s ever written.)

I’m not sure how well SaNW would work as a chronological followup to Refugees, but that’s not really an issue, since the books are all standalones.  There will probably be no reason the books can’t take place in any order.  Mine doesn’t strictly have to come chronologically first, but I wrote it assuming it would be, so… well.  I haven’t read the others yet, so I guess I’ll find out along with the rest of you.

Anyway.  The mandate for these novels is to tell entertaining, self-contained adventures that are distinctly part of the Abrams film continuity.  These aren’t ordinary TOS stories with Pine and Quinto slapped on the cover.  These tales are designed to follow the 2009 movie’s lead, to portray the characters and the world in the same way, to capture the same style and attitude and energy as the film.  SaNW is more action-packed than most of my prior work.  The characters are younger, more inexperienced, still getting to know each other and their starship.  The descriptions of the Enterprise match the movie: the bridge has a clear viewport in front, there’s an airlock as well as a turbolift on the bridge, the corridors are gleaming cylinders, the engine room is more industrial and brewery-like, the ship is huge and has a crew of over a thousand.  Kirk is cocky and arrogant, and his lightning-fast promotion to captain hasn’t helped matters.  Spock and Uhura are an item.  Keenser is climbing all over things in engineering.  And most importantly, the characters are still dealing with the emotional fallout of the film’s events.

But it’s still a CLB-style science fiction novel, with plenty of worldbuilding and exotic vistas and exotic aliens and science that’s more or less grounded in real concepts and the occasional bad pun.  I hope it will appeal to my existing fans as much as it does to the new readers who pick up the Abramsverse novels.

  1. Zack Stentz
    November 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    I’m really excited by this novel, Christopher. I’m curious to see how your world-building sensibility will match up to Bob and Alex and JJ’s more visceral approach to the Star Trek universe. At its best, it could really be the best of both worlds (no pun intended)– the JJverse could use a little more rigorous science fiction sensibility applied to it, and it will be no doubt fun to see your writing in a context that’s zippier and more pop culture oriented than the rather staid Berman-era Trekverse.

    • November 29, 2009 at 8:09 pm

      Thanks, Zack. From what you say, I think you won’t be disappointed; I’m definitely bringing my rigorous sciencey sensibilities to the game while still keeping it “zippy” and light. I guess you could say I took my cues from Bob Orci’s online posts about the science and tech of the movie; I suspect that if it had been entirely up to him, the science would’ve ended up more rigorous than it ultimately did.

      But I’m definitely looking forward to seeing how Alan Dean Foster, Dave Mack, and Greg Cox interpret the Abramsverse too.

  2. Zack Stentz
    November 29, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Really, I forgave everything in the movie except the bizarre distances– that apparently the Kelvin’s maximum impulse speed is about 300 miles per hour, given the amount of time it takes to hit the Narada. Red matter, supernovas, needing a drill to deposit a black hole– all fine with me. And yeah, Bob knows his science backwards and forwards. He thinks like a science fiction writer. JJ is much more visceral in his approach to storytelling.

    • November 30, 2009 at 7:52 am

      Well, I’m used to seeing ships in SFTV and film appearing to move absurdly slowly. Look at the ships in TWOK sluggishly drifting past each other like Hornblower-era sailing ships. I tend to assume it’s symbolic for our benefit, and that in “reality” the ships are much farther apart and faster.

  3. Byron Bailey
    December 1, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Thank you for this, Christopher. If I thought I was anxious, before, waiting for all these nuTrek books to come out next year, well, I’m positively antsy right now.

  4. July 10, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    Whatever happened to this series? Will they ever see the light of day?

    • July 10, 2013 at 2:10 pm

      The books were cancelled for reasons I’m still not clear on. I don’t think it’s likely at this point that they’ll ever be published. Mine, at least, would be difficult to reconcile with the second film.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

