Home > Uncategorized > Writer’s log, stardate today…

Writer’s log, stardate today…

Welcome to my blog — ugh, I hate that word — my online journal.  I’ve finally decided to give in and get one of these, on the theory that it’s a good promotional tool for a writer, and on the theory that it’s good for a writer to have a journal for the sake of practicing one’s craft.  And on the theory that if I’m going to be addicted to websurfing anyway, it might be nice to have a personal haven of sorts, a place where I have more control over the environment and can hopefully be more comfortable than I sometimes am on bulletin boards.

My plan (whose resemblance to reality has yet to be determined) is that this journal will focus primarily on my work as a writer: promoting upcoming projects, discussing current or older projects, giving insights into my creative process, that sort of thing.   Until now, I’ve been using my website for those things, and if you explore it, you’ll find lots of discussion and annotations for my published works.  In the future, I might do more of that here and perhaps less on the website, or I might post my notes in both places.

However, Written Worlds will also be a home for the kind of things I’ve been doing on bulletin boards, such as television, film, and book reviews; I’m planning to re-post a lot of my old BBS reviews here if I can find them, so that they’ll be in a more centralized place.   Plus the things that blogs are usually for, like posting idle thoughts, showing cat pictures,  and so on.

So who am I?  Actually, I figure a lot of folks who’ll be reading this already know that, but for the sake of newcomers — and those too lazy to click links — here’s the introductory text from my website:

At the age of five and a half, I saw my first episode of Star Trek, believing it to be a show about a strange airplane that only flew at night. As I continued watching, I discovered what those points of light in the sky really were. This awakened a lifelong fascination with space, science and speculative fiction. I devoured Asimov, Clarke, and books on astronomy and physics. I often made up Trek-universe stories set a century after Kirk’s adventures (an idea years ahead of its time), but soon shifted to creating my own original universe. I eventually realized I did this pretty well, and deluded myself into thinking I could make a career out of it. Since I’ve now seen the publication of several novels and stories and have more in the works, it seems my delusion might have some truth to it.

My first works of published fiction were two stories appearing in Analog magazine, “Aggravated Vehicular Genocide” and “Among the Wild Cybers of Cybele,” both of which can be read in their entirety in the Original Fiction section of my site.  Since then, I’ve done multiple works of Star Trek fiction for Pocket Books, both novels and short fiction, as well as two novels based on Marvel Comics superheroes.  I’m also an occasional contributor to Star Trek Magazine.  My next novel, coming out in July 2010, is Star Trek: Seek a Newer World, the second original novel to be based on the continuity of the new Star Trek motion picture.  In original fiction, I have a new novelette coming out in the March 2010 Analog, “The Hub of the Matter,” which I’m hoping will be the first of a series.  I’ve also recently sold another story, but I don’t think I can talk about it yet.

Beyond that, I have a couple of original stories out on the market, I’m working on various original spec projects, and I’ve just turned in various pitches to the new Star Trek editor at Pocket, so we’ll see if anything pans out.

And now I have this blog to waste more time on.  I’m hoping it will promote my career rather than distract me from actually writing and job-hunting.  Yeah, good luck with that.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 29, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Welcome to the blogosphere, Christopher! Adding a link from mine!

    Regards Therin of Andor (aka Ian).

  2. November 29, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks! You’re my first commentator (or whatever you call it)!

  3. November 29, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Welcome to the world of WordPress, Christopher!

  4. November 29, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Boy, they’ll let anybody have a blog…………….

    *tee hee* Welcome to the addition, Christopher!

  5. Arthropod of the psychologically unstable variety
    November 29, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Hello. Just thought I’d leave a note, as I sometimes do on KRAD’s web log and those of other people who I pester now and then. I look forward to popping in from time to time.

  6. November 29, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Welcome to the world of blogging, Christopher. You’re off to a good start!

  7. November 29, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I’m curious…

    I’m hoping it will promote my career rather than distract me from actually writing and job-hunting.

    What kind of work are you looking for? If you ever need a dispassionate set of eyes to look over your resume, let me know. I’ve looked at a good thousand in the past decade. I’ve seen great. I’ve seen good. And I’ve seen ones that would make a grown man cry.

    Unfortunately, it’s an abysmal job market right now. I can’t help you there. But if it’s insights you need, I can share what I know.

  8. November 30, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Welcome to the wonderful time-sink that is blogging, Christopher.

  9. November 30, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    A belated welcome to this particular madhouse, Christopher! As with those X-Men covers of aulde when a new character got added to the roster of the day:

    Hope you survive the experience!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

