Home > My Fiction > New story upcoming! “No Dominion”

New story upcoming! “No Dominion”

I’ve gotten the go-ahead to announce the original story sale I’ve hinted at before.  The story is called “No Dominion,” and it’s scheduled to go live Friday, June 11 on the online DayBreak Magazine.  DayBreak is a spinoff of the Shine anthology, a 2010 print anthology of optimistic near-future SF stories.  It’s the brainchild of editor Jetse de Vries, who felt that too much print SF these days is dystopian, and that it wasn’t enough to show us futures we should avoid; it’s just as important to tell stories that point the way to the kind of future we should seek to build.  As a lifelong Star Trek fan, and someone who’s always felt the same way about SF, I figured this was right up my alley.

But as it turned out, I had trouble thinking of an idea. The anthology’s guidelines specified near-future SF, set within the next 50 years.  I tend to assume that things are likely to get worse before they get better, that climate change, overpopulation, and the impending technological revolution will create a lot of turmoil that we’ll have to work hard to overcome before things can really start improving.  Also I’m just not a near-future kind of writer, preferring to set my fiction farther afield in space and time.

So I kept setting this aside for later consideration, and almost missed the deadline as a result.  When I realized I only had three weeks left, I knew that was it — either I came up with something in the next 24 hours or I gave up completely.  I expected the latter — but by the next morning, I had the idea for “No Dominion.”  I wrote it within days, but then had to rework it when I took a closer look at de Vries’ posts about the kinds of stories he was looking for.  Luckily, the deadline was pushed back a month, giving me the time I needed to refine the story.  And apparently it worked.  There wasn’t room for my story in the anthology proper, but de Vries decided to publish the overflow in an online form, creating DayBreak Magazine for that purpose, and I was delighted when he offered to buy my story for the webzine.  It was my second original sale in just over six months, and will be my first story to debut in online form.

So what’s it about?  I don’t want to say much.  On the one hand, the title is from Dylan Thomas’s poem “And Death Shall Have No Dominion.”  On the other hand, it’s a police procedural.  Make of that what you will.  It’s my first published original story to be set on Earth.  It’s pushing the envelope of the Shine/DayBreak chronological parameters, about 48 years in the future, I think.  Certain technologies in the story are too advanced at that point for it to fit in my default original fiction universe, which is why it (anonymously) got its own entry in my list of all my fictional universes.

And I’m just sorry it doesn’t come out until June.  I was hoping it’d be closer to the release of “The Hub of the Matter” in the March Analog , which should be out within the next couple of months.  Still, two stories coming out within four months or so is pretty good.  I just hope it’s a harbinger of further original sales to come.

  1. December 16, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Congrats!

  1. February 26, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

