Home > My Fiction, Science, Star Trek > Ocean planets: a slight correction

Ocean planets: a slight correction

In my earlier post “Ocean planet found!” I wrote the following:

In 2008, I used a Léger-type ocean planet as the featured location in my novel Star Trek Titan: Over a Torrent Sea, which was published in March of this year. As far as I know, it’s the first published work of science fiction to use this concept. (There have been water worlds in SF before, but not specifically like this.)

Well, I have to correct that statement.  I’ve just read Ian McDonald’s novella “The Tear,” which was originally published in February 2008, a bit over a year before Over a Torrent Sea.  “The Tear” is a complex, galaxy-spanning epic loaded with concepts, but it briefly features a Léger-type ocean planet in a couple of its segments.  It doesn’t explore the concept in detail, but still, McDonald beat me to it.  So as far as I know, he’s the first SF writer to use this type of ocean planet as a setting.  Maybe I’m the first to do it in depth (pun intended) or at novel length, but for now let’s just say OaTS is one of the earliest works of SF to use a Léger ocean planet.  Which is still something to be proud of, I think, especially for a media tie-in novel.

  1. Eli Berg-Maas
    April 9, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    WIth a title like “The Tear” I expected to hear it was the primary setting. I look forward to reading both novels.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

