Home > Uncategorized > A blizzard did it

A blizzard did it

February 17, 2010

Being without milk or transportation, I’ve had to make do.  My makeshift breakfast this morning is a smoothie made with yogurt, orange juice, pineapple (since I’m out of bananas), a bit of applesauce, Cheerios (or their generic equivalent), and honey.  Ironically, I’m also out of ice, so I’m chilling the blender in the freezer for a few minutes before I add the cereal.  I’m not expecting a gourmet delight, but it’s what I’ve got.  In related news, once breakfast is done, I will be out of yogurt.  I won’t be able to do this twice.  In fact, I no longer have any dairy products at all.

Okay, this is not a very good smoothie.  I don’t recommend the recipe.  It would probably be better if I had real Cheerios rather than store brand.  And if only I hadn’t eaten that last banana as a snack yesterday…

And now… Science!

I gather that some political pundits are trying to convince people that the huge snowstorms we’re getting in the US are disproof of global warming.  Here’s why that doesn’t make any sense:

What is snow?

It’s frozen water vapor that falls out of the sky.

How’d it get into the sky?

Because somewhere else on the planet, it got evaporated.

What evaporates water?

Heat.

Ultimately, even snow is caused by heat.  A bigger snowstorm doesn’t mean the atmosphere is colder, it means it’s wetter, that there’s more moisture to condense into snow when it reaches a cold area.  And a wetter atmosphere is a consequence of a warmer planet.

All weather is connected.  It’s all part of a single global system.  When it’s summer in the Northern Hemisphere, it’s winter in the Southern Hemisphere, and vice-versa, so there’s always going to be heat and cold coexisting.  And the more total heat there is in the planet’s atmosphere, the more moisture and energy there’s going to be in the atmosphere, and that means all kinds of storms, rain and snow alike, are going to be larger and more powerful.

Which is exactly what the global-warming model actually predicts, despite the false assertions of the pundits.  And which, wouldn’t you know it, is what’s actually happening these days.

Science!  It works!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
