Home > My Fiction > Under the weather

Under the weather

With that new gig coming up soon, I really should be getting some work done on my spec novel while I can.  But I’ve been feeling under the weather for the past few days and I’m not quite up to it mentally.  I tried getting back into the revisions yesterday, but I realized a certain sequence was way too talky and that I’d ended up glossing over a revelation that was actually pretty important, or that I’d set up earlier as pretty important.  I’ve been trying to think about how to fix it, but I just keep coming up with more possibilities that warrant more careful thought.  I can’t just toss something off here, especially when I’m not at my peak mentally.

So I’m just gonna ramble about various stuff to keep me occupied.  Let’s see.  I figured out my money situtation’s a bit better than I thought.  Still not great, but I now know I’ll at least be able to pay all my bills and rent on time this month, before things start to improve financially next month.  So that’s reassuring.  It’s still a bit frustrating to know I’ll be able to buy stuff I need and stuff I want in the near future but not be able to just yet; but on the other hand, it’s better knowing that it will happen than not being sure at all.

I’m liking my “new” recliner chair.  It’s fairly comfortable.  Unfortunately, my apartment’s too small to put it in the optimal place, which would be facing the TV and under the torchiere lamp.  My couch takes up virtually all the space between the corner and the door.  Theoretically I could reverse the positions of the couch and the audio/video stuff, but then I’d need to have the TV cable stretching across the floor, which wouldn’t really work.  Plus it would be too hard to move it all on my own.

However, the chair’s much lighter than the old one, as I mentioned before.  One day, I just moved the chair into the middle of the living room, in front of the couch, and sat in it to watch TV.  Worked nicely, but too impractical to do regularly.  Sigh.  As for the lamp thing, I figure once my money situation’s better, I can buy a reading lamp to put next to the chair.

Okay, I’m all rambled out, save for one bit that turned out long enough that I’m gonna split it off into a second post.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

