Home > Uncategorized > I can buy stuff again!

I can buy stuff again!

No, I haven’t quite gotten my first novel advance yet, but I had a small certificate of deposit that matured today and is more than enough to tide me over until the advance arrives.  I’ve scrimped and saved to get by until this day, since withdrawing the money early would’ve incurred a substantial penalty (though honestly I don’t know if it would’ve been more than the credit card fees I’ve been accumulating), but now it’s in the clear.  So I went on sort of  a shopping spree today — not a huge one, but enough to get some things I’ve needed and a few luxuries too.

First I went to Bed Bath & Beyond to buy a new set of tumblers (after a quick stop at the eyeglasses place to get my screws tightened, which is free).  As I mentioned back in January, the last set of four I got there is down to one.  So I got another set, not exactly the same, but as close as they had.  I tried looking for some lunch plates too, but they didn’t have any cheap ones except for some made of melamine, which isn’t really microwave-safe.

After that, I was going to go have lunch at Roly Poly, a chain I like that specializes in wraps.  But I belatedly remembered that the one in that area was closed.  Oh, well.  So after a quick stop at the local library, I decided to go up to the Half Price Books in Kenwood and see what kind of dining options they had in the area.  I was already heading for the freeway when I remembered I’d been planning to go to the Kroger in the same vicinity where I was, but I figured I’d come back later if I didn’t find a Kroger up in Kenwood.  Naturally groceries would have to come last for the sake of the frozen foods.

Anyway, at Half Price Books I picked up several old Trek books that might be useful for researching ideas for my new novel, so I can write those off as business expenses, yay.  Then I couldn’t find the way out of the store until I completely circumnavigated it and found that it had been just to the right of where I’d been (imagine that, putting the exit right next to the checkout counter!).  Then I saw a Panera across the street, and thought I’d have lunch there.  But the parking lot for that entire sub-mall area was completely full.  I thought, “Oh well, there’s a Panera near the Kroger, I’ll have lunch there.”  So I took the freeway back down toward where I’d been.

Here’s the thing, though — I’m not familiar with navigating that area by freeway, and I chose the wrong exit.  Worse, it was an exit that transferred me to a different highway, the Norwood Lateral.  So when I got off the highway, I was in the wrong part of town, though eventually I ended up in familiar enough territory that I’d be able to navigate back to my intended destination, though by a much more roundabout route than I’d intended.

But then I saw there was a Kroger in the mall I was passing and I decided to save gas and go shopping there.  The problem was that there weren’t any good lunch options in the area, just fast-food joints and one place that was too pricey.  But it was getting too late and I had to eat something.  I had a modest and disappointing meal at KFC and then I went grocery shopping.  I got a number of things I haven’t had in a while, some new things I’ve been curious to try, and a few Corelle lunch plates.  Then I came home.

And in a bit of great timing, my credit card bill came in the mail this afternoon, so I can start paying it off right away.  I’m only paying half of it this month, but I should be able to pay off the rest next month.

And all this left me comfortable enough to finally commit to buying a couple of luxury items — ones I’d normally hold off on but can’t really since they’re limited editions.  Back in February, La-La Land Records, which specializes in film scores, notified me of a limited release of Shirley Walker’s score to the 1990 The Flash TV series, which predated her Batman: The Animated Series work by a couple of years and presaged its style.  I couldn’t stand to miss my chance at that, but I couldn’t afford to buy it, so I’ve been on tenterhooks hoping they didn’t sell out before I could get one.  Luckily, they still have copies available.  Also, just recently they announced a limited-edition re-release of a soundtrack I’ve always wanted but didn’t know had ever been released at all: Nelson Riddle’s score to the 1966 Adam West Batman feature film (source of the classic line, “Some days you just can’t get rid of a bomb!”).  Naturally I was dying to grab that too, and now I’ve finally been able to buy them both.  It’s such a relief not to be broke anymore.

And there’s a Panera right up the street from me, so I guess I’ll go have dinner there to compensate for missing my lunch opportunity.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

