Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > Busy day for DTI

Busy day for DTI

Sorry I haven’t posted in over a week.  I’ve been focusing on the Star Trek DTI outline as the deadline looms.  I’ve been reading a lot of fiction relating to time travel, both Trek and original, and it’s taken up a bunch of my time.

Yesterday in particular was a big day.  First I brainstormed ideas for the book cover with my editor, Jaime Costas, and offered some suggestions she seemed to like.  Later, I wrote pretty much the entire climactic portion of the outline, at least the A plot.  And this morning I added the denouement for the A plot, including a description of the final scene.  But I’m not done yet; I still need to fill in the back half of the B plot, its denouement, and maybe some other bits.

The outline’s turning out to be more integrated than I’d expected.  I was initially thinking of this as being structured with multiple parallel plotlines, each following a different DTI agent, team, or other employee through a separate story, each story illustrating a different aspect of the department’s responsibilities.  Instead, though there are multiple parallel plotlines at first, most of them end up converging.  They still cover a range of different DTI responsibilities, but with more overlap.

Still, I’ve got a few days left to revise the outline.  I’ll probably have a reasonably complete first draft by tonight, and then I’ll have until Monday for revisions.  Maybe some things will be reworked.  Now that I’ve got the overall story figured out, I can concentrate on the specifics of how it unfolds and is presented.

Meanwhile, I got another, smaller writing gig yesterday.  Details later.

Oh, and my signing advance check came a few days ago.  I wasn’t really able to celebrate much because I’ve been too focused on the work, but I’ve bought a few things here and there, and it is a relief to be able to do that again.  Hopefully soon I’ll get my desktop PC repaired so I don’t have to depend on this old, slow, memory-poor laptop for everything.

  1. April 23, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    How long are your outlines typically? Five pages? Or twenty-five pages?

    • April 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      I don’t know if there is a typical length, but this one’s definitely beyond it. So much of it has to be created from scratch and worked out in detail that it’s turned out very long. I intend to come up with a more streamlined version for Jaime.

  2. Thierry
    April 23, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Hi there Chritopher,
    I’m curious to read your Time travel piece. The truth is that i think that Star Trek was almost never interesting, or well done, when they approach time travel stories… (and they have on many occasions)
    Of course there are a few episodes that are master pieces (City on the edge of Forever (TOS) and Past tense (DS9)… Oh and if forgot a couple of Voyager stories too that are vey nice. But tere are also many episode with bad story plots and Enterprise Temporal Cold War is just, well to my point of view, kind of a shame. It could have been much much better (well at least we’ve got some very very nice Xindy episodes out of it)
    I think so mainly because Time Travel is, to me, boring. It’s too easy. (At least in Star Trek) And exept in Voyager (episodes name i can’t recall out of the blue) where the changes in time has repercutions that can never be changed back. That was interesting, because for each action the reaction might not be what we think, when we speak of something as theorical as Time Travel.
    Anyway i hope you will deliver as good a book as you have so far… (and to my standard your books are among the best SF i read so you are on a kind of metaphorical pedestal now !lol!) And maybe you’ll deliver a story that will stay in my memory as “Time Travel is cool again in Star Trek” because of Christopher ! 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

