Home > Star Trek > New article in ST Magazine Movie Special (UPDATED)

New article in ST Magazine Movie Special (UPDATED)

May 9, 2010

I kinda forgot that I had an article coming up in Star Trek Magazine #26 (aka #153 in the UK), until I came upon a post about the issue on Allyn Gibson’s LiveJournal.  I then saw the issue on the shelf at the grocery store this afternoon, so I figured I’d better update my homepage and my blog to announce it.

ST Magazine 26 regular coverRegular cover

The issue is billed as “The Ultimate Movie Guide” and has features on all eleven ST films.  My article is the last one in the bunch, covering the 2009 J. J. Abrams Star Trek film.  It’s called “The Remaking of Star Trek,” as a nod to Stephen E. Whitfield’s seminal book The Making of Star Trek, about the production of the original series.  The thrust of the article is to evaluate the movie as a movie, and to address its place in the context of the ST franchise’s history and in the context of the era in which is was made.

So this is some consolation for the shelving of my Abramsverse novel, which would’ve been out within the next month if plans hadn’t changed.  This way I still get something in print based on the new movie.

Star Trek Magazine‘s site is here, though it hasn’t been updated to issue 26 yet.

ST Magazine 26

Alternate cover

EDIT: I’m disabling comments to this post, because for some reason it’s attracting tons of spam.

