Home > Uncategorized > Trapped on Vine Street!

Trapped on Vine Street!

As I alluded to a couple of posts ago, I have a family member in the hospital.  It’s one of the closest hospitals to where I live, in foot or bike range, but I wanted to get there for a visit before their afternoon “quiet time” began, so I decided to drive.  But it turned out there was construction slowing down traffic on McMillan Avenue, so I decided to try a detour to get to Auburn (where the hospital is) and so turned down Vine Street.  The street I was planning on using as a shortcut was a) closed off by more construction and b) a one-way street in the wrong direction anyway.  So I had to keep going down Vine to try to find another way to get over to Auburn.  There didn’t seem to be any, and eventually I found myself nearing downtown.  Okay, I thought; I’ll just go left and get over to the place where I knew I’d be able to get back onto Auburn.  But at the place where I planned to turn left, there was more construction prohibiting it!  I had to keep going down Vine in search of a place to turn left.  And every cross street I came across either had a No Left Turn sign or construction blocking it.  By this point, it was too late to get to the hospital in time, so I started to consider just doubling back and going home.  But when I tried to turn right in order to loop back up for home, I found the street blocked on the right side!  Aaaaaaaaaaah!  It was like one of those nightmares where you can’t find a way to get to where you want to go no matter how hard you try.

Okay, so going to the hospital was out until later in the day, so I decided that as long as I was in the area, I’d go to the Kroger on Vine Street (the first Kroger grocery store ever) and pick up a few things I needed.  At first, I was a little confused about where I was and thought I had to go over a block to get there.  Then I happened to glance to my left and there was the Kroger right beside me!  I signaled for a left turn, but none of the oncoming cars would pause to let me through.  So I gave up and had to keep going down Vine until I finally got to a place where I could turn — except it was a place where I had to turn because Vine became one-way at that point!  So I was still being funneled in a single direction with no choice!

Anyway, I finally got turned around, though the lights were against me and it took several minutes.  And I got to the store and bought stuff and came home and here I am.  And I’m just wondering why the city apparently felt it necessary to do every road maintenance project along Vine Street at the same time and thus make it so hard to get there from here.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

