Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > Not stranded after all

Not stranded after all

I woke up this morning to find my lost Greyhound ticket shoved under my door.  Apparently the hotel staff found it after I called lost & found (or so I assume, since I haven’t been out of my room yet).  I’m grateful to them for finding it.

I’m also grateful to Allyn Gibson and Mike Barr, both of whom chipped in a few bucks to help me pay for a new ticket.  I’ll be returning their money as soon as I see them.  I’m gratified that my friends and colleagues were so ready to help me out, but I’m also glad I won’t need to impose on their generosity.

It’s just about time to go down to the authors’ breakfast.  Then I have my time travel panel at 10 and a Myriad Universes panel at 1.  I’m glad I’ll be able to enjoy them without ticket problems weighing on my mind.

I’m disappointed that what with one thing and another, I haven’t gotten any writing done on this trip.  The past couple of years, I’ve gotten some significant work done while travelling.  However, I made some significant progress working out the next chapter in my head while lying in bed not sleeping this morning.  (I’ve always used time in bed as quiet time for thinking, which is probably why I’m such an insomniac — for me, going to bed is a trigger to start thinking, not stop.)  Hopefully I can get some work done on it tonight while waiting for the bus which I now have a ticket for again.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

