Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > Shore Leave winds down

Shore Leave winds down

Not to worry — I repaid Allyn and Mike as soon as I saw them at breakfast.  I just had a bowl of cereal and a banana, basically, since I haven’t had an ordinary breakfast in a couple of days, but I had it with some strawberries, a muffin, and a couple of sausage links, something I usually don’t eat but indulge in when I’m here.

I did most of my packing last night and got out of my room between breakfast and the 10 AM time travel panel.  Checkout’s at noon, and I wanted to attend an 11 AM panel, so that left getting checked out before 10.  So I’ve been carrying my backpack around all day, and somehow it feels lighter than it did on Friday, even though by rights it should be a bit heavier.  Maybe I have more energy or more practice now.

Anyway, the time travel panel was better attended than I expected for 10 AM on Sunday, at least on the audience end.  A. C. Crispin was a no-show as a panel member, and Howie Weinstein had another commitment, so it was just me, Greg Cox, and David Mack.  So I talked about DTI and they talked mainly about their novel sequels to The 4400, which was a nice bonus.  I’d forgotten that show even involved time travel, since they shifted emphasis so much to the present-day social/political stuff in later seasons.  The audience was engaged and active, and I got to do some of the scientific discussion I was hoping to do.  I’m surprised that nobody asked about the new movie’s temporal theory, or about the Temporal Cold War.  But panel audiences often take things in unexpected directions.

Our panel segued neatly into the 4400 panel run at 11 by Dave, Greg, Dayton Ward, and Kevin Dilmore, all four authors of 4400 tie-in fiction.  It went pretty well, and I picked up copies of the last two books courtesy of the authors.  Then I needed to get a quick lunch, since I had a panel at 1 and didn’t have time to go across to the mall.  So I shelled out 6 bucks for a hamburger at the downstairs concession the hotel sets up.  I don’t usually eat ground beef, but like the sausage, a once-in-a-while indulgence is okay.  And it was actually a pretty decent burger.  I ate it while hanging out at the Borders Books table and shooting the breeze with its operators, Russ and Cindy (I think that’s her name, apologies if I got it wrong).  Then came the Myriad Universes panel with myself, Marco, Keith DeCandido, and Scott Pearson.  I mainly talked about Places of Exile, my contribution to the series, but this turned out to be the panel where the audience wanted to hear about the Abrams movie and my experiences writing a tie-in to that, working in an alternate timeline.  Even though it’s a tie-in that may never be published.

That was the last panel I was on, but I attended a panel on original-to-book tie-in series run by Michael Jan Friedman (Stargazer), Peter David (New Frontier), Dave Mack (Vanguard), and Kirsten Beyer (post-finale Voyager).  Although it turned out to be mainly Dave and Kirsten talking about pitching to Voyager and Peter telling his Imzadi story.

Since then it’s been saying my farewells to people, and now I’m sitting in an empty salon catching up on my Internet stuff.  My bus leaves at 9:40ish tonight, so I’ve got plenty of time to pass.

All in all, it’s been fun.  Quieter than I’d hoped, since Pocket had no new books out this month, but it was nice seeing the gang again and doing panels and so on.  And it was nice getting away from the family medical stuff for a few days.

  1. July 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Good seeing you! FYI, the other Borders person was Tina. 🙂

  2. charlie
    July 11, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    ok. Here would be a dream come true….if you and kirsten beyer continued with the voyager books! seriously…did they give any information….if they said it in public im assuming you can share it with us! also…are they ever going to do more then one book of voyager in a year? it seems like forever ago that unworthy came out….please lemme know what you are able to say….

    thanks
    charlie
    oh and safe travels back to your home…lots of bad weather all over can make roadtrips hazardous!

    • July 12, 2010 at 1:02 pm

      I don’t know anything about future VGR books beyond what Kirsten said at the panel. How many VGR books they do in a given year would depend on all sorts of factors and can’t be predicted in advance.

  3. Tim
    July 11, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Sir, it was a pleasure meeting you (albeit briefly) when getting a book signed on Friday night. And sitting in on panels you were attending or participating in, like Voyager chat with Kirsten. It was great to hear your insights into other author’s works, too. Glad to hear your issues with the ticket worked out in your favor. I’ll look forward to your upcoming works. Thanks for bringing your own insights to Trek literature.

  1. September 4, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

