Home > Reviews, Star Trek > Busy week

Busy week

I’ve been too busy this week to pay much attention to the blog.  I’ve finally started to recover some lost momentum on DTI, but the family medical situation has been a preoccupation as well.  I thought things were finally getting better, but now a serious new problem has arisen.  I’ve learned something about the cause of the family member’s medical problems that’s reassuring in one sense, worrying in another.

And yet I have to focus on writing DTI because I’m five weeks from deadline.  I don’t really have the luxury to devote too much of my time to this.  Luckily a family friend is doing the heavy lifting.  I suppose maybe it’s a blessing having the distraction of the novel, but still, it’s hard to make myself focus on it.

On top of everything else, I’m having a recurrence of a medical issue of my own, twinges of nerve pain that I’m feeling in my tooth, though it’s not a dental issue.  My neurologist recommended a standard drug treatment, but the drug has side effects that concern me, such as dependency issues that make it hard to withdraw from (awkward given that the pain is only intermittent) and the risk of inducing suicidal feelings (which really scares me — I’d rather have the physical pain than feel that kind of despair).  And I’m still not convinced of the diagnosis, so I’m reluctant to chance it yet.  I think the nerve irritation may be caused by a nervous tic I have, and I’m hoping that if I can manage to overcome that and relax more, the problem might go away on its own.  Probably wishful thinking, I know.  But for now, the pain is manageable; it’s only in the past few days that it’s gone beyond mild twinges, and so far it hasn’t been as bad as it was in the first two major bouts.  Or maybe I’m just getting desensitized to it.  In any case, I just don’t have the time or the money to deal with it right now.

But the good news is, I’m making progress on DTI.  I’m finally getting into some of that worldbuilding I’ve always wanted to do with a particular Trek species.  And I’m working on a section of the book that features guest appearances by some familiar faces from a series I’ve written for before, plus the return of an alien civilization I created in an earlier book.  I also jumped ahead a bit and did a chapter that introduced two original characters who will be major players in the story; one of them belongs to a familiar organization.  And I went to far more trouble than I needed to in order to construct an alien planet’s calendar for a couple of date references.  Best of all, I got to use the word “amaranthine.”

Let’s see, what’s on TV?  Eureka‘s new season arc looks promising so far.  I’m not crazy about all the changes, but several have potential, and it’s great to have Ty Olsson back as Andy.  James Callis is working out okay so far, but his American accent is highly unconvincing.  As for Haven, the new Stephen King-ish show that follows it, I find it a take-or-leave show, something I’d watch if nothing else were on but have no burning interest in following.  Warehouse 13‘s new season so far is about like the last — it has some appeal and entertainment value, mainly where the cast is concerned, but ultimately is too conceptually cluttered and awkward and gratuitously weird.  Over on USA, I’m glad White Collar is back, and it seems to be working as well as before, though it’s only been one episode so far.  I like the new Covert Affairs so far; it’s going for sort of an Alias-ish thing, a hot young spy balancing spy work and personal life, but less dark and angsty and mystical.  I like Piper Perabo and Christopher Gorham as the leads, which is surprising since I really didn’t care for Gorham in Jake 2.0.  I’m not engaged by the subplots of CIA politics and the mystery arc about the lead character’s ex-boyfriend.

And I’m really liking Flashpoint, and not just because Amy Jo Johnson and Enrico Colantoni are in it.  I love its attitude.  It’s nominally an action show, but it’s got a lot of heart, and though the team is heavily armed and rather military in its operation, their policy is to find nonviolent solutions whenever possible, to solve crises by understanding the people involved and talking them down.  With one exception, when the bad guys have been killed rather than convinced to surrender peacefully, it’s been treated as a tragedy and a failure and the team have been shown dealing with the emotional consequences of the loss of life.  I’m loving this, an action show that doesn’t glorify violence and gunplay, that doesn’t trivialize death, but is more about smart, compassionate people solving problems on a human level, even while it’s also about using cutting-edge technology and tactics to solve problems.

  1. Patricia
    July 19, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Thinking kind thoughts for your and your family’s medical problems.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

