Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > The show must go on

The show must go on

Despite everything else that’s going on in my life right now, I’m still three weeks from deadline on DTI: Watching the Clock, so I’m having to keep on with the writing.  As it happens, I’ve had my most prolific week so far on this project, finally finding my second wind.  Hopefully my pace will continue to accelerate as the story threads come together more.

My process lately has been getting very improvisational.  As I was writing the climactic portion of a certain sequence yesterday, I knew only the broad strokes of what I wanted to happen and had to make up the details as I went.  I came up with an idea for a neat character entrance and had a certain thing in mind to explain how it happened.  But then I wrote myself into a position where it seemed appropriate to bring the situation to the brink of disaster, and the only way out of it I could see was a darker one than I wanted.  But then I had an idea for an alternative solution, and it just so happened to give me an alternative explanation for the bit earlier on.  So I pretty much discovered the sequence as I went and it fell into place rather neatly.  At least I hope it did.

One thing that helps on the meeting-the-deadline front is that I’ve figured out I can dispense with a whole chapter.  I found a way to combine most of the relevant plot points from two planned (non-consecutive) chapters into one.  As for the one that remained, I realized it was somewhat redundant, just reinforcing something established about a certain character in the immediately previous chapter.  So dropping it is an improvement structurally as well as letting me move the plot forward faster.  There is one aspect that I have to weaken a bit, something I have to convey more indirectly, but it’s just not important enough by itself to justify writing a whole chapter I don’t need.

In any case, I finally feel like I’m managing to fulfill my original idea for this book, which is to give an overview of all the different tasks the Department of Temporal Investigations performs.  Though even as I typed that sentence, I realized there’s one aspect that I’ve only really covered indirectly so far and maybe should be expanded on if I find an opportunity.  I do have a character I established earlier on who’s just right for it, and it would be a good idea to bring him back.  The catch is, given my time and length constraints, I need to find a way to use him to do something I was going to do anyway, instead of adding something extraneous just for the sake of having it.

  1. Barrie Suddery
    August 3, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Looking forward to seeing the finished product. Any idea when it’ll be published? And will it be available in Kindle ebook format?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

