Home > Uncategorized > I own a car

I own a car

For the past couple of years, I’ve been driving my father’s car but he still owned it.  I never wanted to own a car and only started driving his out of necessity when he was no longer able to drive.  He kept wanting me to take possession of it, but I kept putting it off.  Now, with his passing imminent, I’ve finally had to take possession of it.  Technically I would’ve inherited it anyway, but it was probably quicker and easier this way.  My sister, his power-of-attorney, got together with the family lawyer and transferred title to me, and I just got back from a trip to the Clerk of Courts to make it official.  This also meant going next door to the BMV to get new license plates.  That part was pretty pricey.  I didn’t know in advance that I’d have to pay that much, so it was just luck that I happened to have enough cash in my wallet.  Just now I called my father’s car insurance guy to let him know about the change of ownership so he could put the policy in my name, and that hardly took any longer than it takes to tell it.  So that was the easiest part.  (At least until I get the next insurance bill…)

So now I think everything’s all proper and legal.  The car belongs to me, it has its new plates and stickers and registration and insurance and everything.  I don’t have one of those registration cards they mail you along with the new stickers, but I folded up the certificate of registration and stuck it in my wallet next to my license; I assume that will work as well, since they didn’t issue me anything else.

Now the question is, what do I do with my old license plates?  Just throw them out?  Is there a way to get them recycled?

Of course, now that I own the car, what I’d really like to do is sell it and get a smaller, more fuel-efficient one.  That might be an option in a few months, once I have more money on hand from my book advance and, well, my inheritance.  But not right now.  Heck, maybe I’ll hang onto this one for a while anyway, just so I don’t have to go through the same hassle all over again too soon.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 3, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Your home state doesn’t insist upon having them returned as a matter of routine?

  2. August 6, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I remember reading that some states and provinces do insist upon it. Others, perhaps, not so much.

  3. Jim
    August 7, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Bring them to the BMV. Do not throw them out or recycle them. If someone picks them up and places them on a car, any ticket that they get will come to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

