Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > A busy day

A busy day

I’m still amazed at how well I’m managing to get my writing done in the midst of dealing with my father’s loss.  I think I’m maybe a bit manic-depressive when it comes to my creative cycle; sometimes it’s hard for me to get my creative energies flowing enough to write anything down, but sometimes, particularly as I close in on the final third or so of a novel and the final weeks of a deadline, it’s hard for me to stop writing.  I guess it’s a good thing that my father waited to pass on until I was in an “up” phase, with too much momentum to really get thrown off even by this.

So anyway, I did a good amount of work this morning, maybe around 1800 words on the novel — plus the memorial post for my father.  Then I went up to my father’s apartment to take measurements of a table that’s been in the family for as long as I can remember and that my sister wanted to know if I could take.  Unfortunately, I don’t have room for it in my apartment.  I called my sister to let her know that, and while I was at it, asked if she had lunch plans.  As it turned out, she and her fiancé were about 20 minutes from the apartment, so we met there and went to lunch.  Afterward, we spent a couple of hours packing up most of what was left of my father’s stuff (that the two of them hadn’t already taken care of), loading it into our cars, and taking it to Goodwill.  In 95-degree weather and high humidity.

So that was a pretty full day’s work right there.  But still I managed to get another 1800 words done on the novel after an early dinner.  That’s 3600 words in one day, which is a new record for this particular book.  And I managed to do it on this of all days.  That’s a little scary.

I guess it helped that the material I wrote this morning involved a lot of the sort of things I’m dealing with in my own life right now.  So it came from a lot of the thoughts and feelings I’ve been having and thus came pretty easily, and felt pretty fulfilling.

I even managed to get the dishes done just now.  But now it’s time to settle down for the evening and watch a whole bunch of TV.  I think I’ve earned it, more than usual.

  1. Barrie Suddery
    August 11, 2010 at 5:39 am

    Feet up, my man. Have a cold one and relax; tomorrow’s another day.

  2. August 16, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Never having known your father beyond what you’ve told us all here, I find myself suspecting that he might indeed be pleased at such progress. Getting the job done.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

