Home > Star Trek > DTI is done!

DTI is done!

Well, nearly done.  I reached the end of the first draft today, clocking in at 123,000 words, including the acknowledgments.  Which gives me three days and change to do revisions.  Hopefully I can slim it down some, but I’m thinking there are one or two things I need to expand or add.

Basically my work today had two parts, the denouement and the acknowledgments.  And the latter felt like it took longer, though it didn’t really.  This is probably the most heavily researched novel I’ve ever written, so I had a lot of different sources to acknowledge: Star Trek episodes and films, ST books and stories, original SF works about time travel, scientific papers and articles discussing the physics concepts dealt with in the book, even calendar converter sites.  I had to go through my notes file for the novel (itself of epic length) to remind myself of all my references, double-check web addresses (some of which had changed in the interim), check author credits for various Trek episodes, etc.  I’m thinking that in the future, I should write my acknowledgments at the start of the process, when the research is fresh in my mind.  I think I’ve done that once or twice before.

Anyway, I’m kind of exhausted now.  But I still need to stay busy for another few days.

  1. Barrie Suddery
    August 27, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Woohoo! Can’t wait to read it!

  2. August 27, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Looking forward to it!

  3. Adam
    August 30, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Congrats!! I always forget — about how many printed MMPB pages would 123,000 words translate to? Either way, that’s a ton of words!

    • August 30, 2010 at 11:32 am

      Page count depends on the font and type size. For something this long, they’ll probably keep the print fairly small. For comparison, this is about halfway between the lengths of Ex Machina and The Buried Age, so we’re probably looking at around 400 pages.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

