Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > DTI is REALLY done!

DTI is REALLY done!

I finished just in the nick of time — my deadline was today, and I emailed the manuscript to Pocket at 4:58 PM, just ten minutes ago as I write this sentence.  I’ve spent the past four days working almost constantly, getting through two full revision drafts of the novel.  And I needed them.  There were several scenes and concepts I realized I needed to add, so that even though I streamlined things and cut out excesses, it ended up a bit longer, at 124,000 words.  But they were good additions, allowing me to flesh out some characters, concepts, and story points better.  And I made some significant structural improvements here and there.  One chapter had a bit too much science exposition coming all at once, and I realized I could break it up by transposing two scenes, and the scenes actually flowed together better that way.

I also managed to do something similar to what David R. George III did in his Crucible trilogy, in which he managed to slip in a reference to every episode of the original and animated Star Trek series.  Similarly, I found ways to insert at least an oblique allusion to at least one element from effectively every time-travel episode or movie in the ST canon (and a number of time-travel novels and comics), although sometimes it’s really oblique.  This wasn’t entirely gratuitous; going through the remaining unreferenced episodes for concepts or terminology I could weave in helped me tighten up a few things conceptually and integrate the book a bit better into the overall body of Trek temporal lore.

All in all, I’m very satisfied with the character work I did in this novel.  Lucsly, Dulmur, and the other characters I introduced or elaborated upon turned out to be an interesting group, at least to me, and I’ve enjoyed the time I spent in their company.  I planned this novel to be not only my first but my final word on Star Trek time travel, pulling out all the stops and addressing pretty much everything I wanted to address (space permitting) so that I could get it out of my system.  And I’d be extremely surprised if the book sold well enough to spark a sequel.  It doesn’t star any of the big, familiar crews (though there are guest appearances by a number of familiar faces), it’s not a conventional starship adventure tale, and its concepts are rather involved and intellectually challenging.  So it’s probably going to have kind of a niche appeal.  Still, I’ve been thinking that I wouldn’t mind getting to revisit these characters in the future.

Or, as they say in the business, “uptime.”

  1. Charlie
    August 30, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    so how long is 124,000 words…in pages?

  2. Barrie Suddery
    August 31, 2010 at 5:16 am

    REALLY looking forward to this novel.

  3. Marc Hart
    August 31, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    I’m already hoping for a sequel. And I haven’t even read it yet…or have I?

    Time travel gives me a headache.

  4. August 31, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Thank you for all your hard work. And now we just have to wait to read it (^_^)
    I don’t know if the book will sell well but I sure hope so ! (for you and for us fans of Trek and fans of your work…)
    What do you mean by sell well ? like 100 000 copies or 1 000 000 ? what’s the number to reach ?
    Sometimes a hardcover get out first (Like for the Romulan war first book) Do you know if it’s going to be like that for you book ? (i suppose not but that could be nice…)

    • August 31, 2010 at 11:19 pm

      A hundred thousand? I wish!
      The Romulan War came out in trade paperback, not hardcover. DTI is a regular-sized mass-market paperback.

  5. Adam
    September 1, 2010 at 8:11 am

    I can’t wait to read it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

