Home > Uncategorized > My recommended daily allowance of irony

My recommended daily allowance of irony

Okay, so I noticed that my car was due for its regular 3-month oil change and checkup as recommended by a sticker that the dealership stuck on the windshield 3 months ago.  So I made the appointment yesterday and took the car in for service today.  While I was there, I passed the time by using their wi-fi to surf the Web with my laptop.  I decided to go to the New York Times page, and while I was there, in the car dealership for my regular oil change, I came upon this article:

The 3,000-Mile Oil Change is Pretty Much History

So I had to go to the dealership in order to find an article telling me I didn’t have to be there.  Oh, well.

But in the dealership’s defense, I think they may have updated their policy, since the new windshield sticker is going by mileage instead of date, and the mileage figure listed is 7,000 miles more than my current odometer reading — which, given my driving habits, is probably several years from now.  I probably shouldn’t wait that long, since the guy told me I’ll probably need my brake pads changed in a few months.

Anyway, on the plus side, I had one of those little plastic cards where if you get all the holes punched, you get a free oil change, and I had all the holes punched.  So I may not have needed to make this trip, but at least I didn’t have to pay anything for it (except the price of the gas I expended to drive there, plus 75 cents for the vending machine).

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Barrie Suddery
    September 19, 2010 at 6:24 am

    As a habit, I change the oil, oil filter and air filter annually before putting my car in for it’s MOT ( an annual test all cars in the UK have to have if they’re over three years old to ensure roadworthiness).

    Might be a good idea to change the timing belt if you don’t know when the last time it was changed. If it snaps, it’ll ruin your engine and you’ll end up having to get it rebuilt.

    • September 19, 2010 at 7:07 am

      The dealership did an inspection, and the form says “Condition of drive belts” is okay.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

