Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > DTI copyedits

DTI copyedits

Pocket Books has apparently switched to an electronic process for copyediting, so instead of getting the marked-up pages shipped to me and sending my corrections by e-mail, I’ve instead been e-mailed the edited manuscript in .doc format.  By using MS Word, something I normally don’t do, I’m able to “Track Changes” and see all the edits that have been made (with notations in the margin in red), with the option to accept or reject changes.  Also, my own changes are marked in the margin in blue.  It’s kinda neat, and I guess it’s more efficient.  I went through the marked copyedits pretty quickly, but I still need to take the time to read through the whole thing more carefully.

I also got sent the style sheet, which is a reference document that lists, among other things, the spellings of all the proper names and specialized terms in the book so they can be kept consistent.  Since DTI: Watching the Clock is such a complicated book touching on so many different characters, events, times, and concepts both established and original, the list of names for things, people, and places on DTI’s style sheet is a full ten pages long, single-spaced.

Just to whet your appetite, here’s a sample from the “places” section of the style sheet, covering the letters E through I (plus the page number of the first appearance of each name in the manuscript):

Ealing, 276

Earth, 5

Endicor system, 90

Epsilon Ceti, 156

Eris, Dwarf planet 136199, 6

Eternal Love Hospice, 295

European Alliance, 56

Feather Place, 60

Ford’s Theatre, 82

Gaia, 198

Galartha Sector, 155

Gamma Quadrant, 198

Greenwich, 8

Gum Nebula, 113

Hugora Nebula, 271

Ilia Memorial Space Center, 285

Indira City, 40

Ten of these are locations where scenes are actually set (though there’s some overlap, obviously); the other seven are only referenced.  Which are which?  That would be telling…

A note on the title: Apparently the full title to be printed on the book’s cover and title page is Star Trek: Department of Temporal Investigations: Watching the Clock.  However, it’s listed on the Simon & Schuster site and on Amazon.com as Star Trek: DTI: Watching the Clock (which is off by one colon from what I’ve been using, Star Trek DTI: Watching the Clock).  So it looks like the two forms are equivalent and interchangeable, with the abbreviated form being preferred for talking/writing about the book but the spelled-out form used on the book itself.  Although I don’t yet know which form will be printed on the spine of the book.  I wouldn’t be surprised if they used the shorter form to make it fit better.  (I know I’ve seen that done in some case, the full name on the front cover and the acronym on the spine, but I can’t remember what book that was.  Maybe it was a video or CD instead.)

  1. November 1, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    That’s interesting. I did my copyedits for Paths of Disharmony the “old-fashioned way,” so maybe I was one of the last to do so, and you’re among the first for the new method? I have to say I like what you’re describing a heck of a lot better than dealing with the pages, typing up notes, and so on.

    I wonder what they’ll do for you when it comes time to review the first-pass pages?

  2. November 1, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Michael and I use Track Changes for commenting/editing each other’s work. I also use it a lot in teaching, for when I return comments on drafts to my students.

  3. November 5, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Just starting to get used to this particular piece of tech myself in my own writing projects…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

