Home > Uncategorized > Fall back! Fall back!

Fall back! Fall back!

Well, I just reset my clocks back to standard time, those that didn’t reset themselves.  I only have a couple — computer and cable box — that do automatically reset, at least on the right date; I have a VCR that was built back before Daylight Saving Time was extended, so it resets on the wrong date and I have to fix it twice.

Anyway, I’ve finally reset my kitchen probe thermometer doohickey’s clock enough times that I can do it without consulting the manual — but I nonetheless forgot which of the four buttons on my watch did which thing, and I had trouble finding the right page in its teeny-tiny manual which told me the answer.  Meanwhile, I had to cope with the Bose Wave Music system (i.e. fancy clock radio/CD player) that I inherited from my father, the manual for which was never found when we cleaned out his possessions, so I had no idea how to set its clock.  It occurred to me that I could probably find a PDF of the manual on the manufacturer’s site, and indeed I did.  Which was good, because I discovered a few weeks ago that the clock was 12 hours off, showing PM when it was AM.  Not really consequential, since it’s generally not difficult to tell AM from PM without having to be told by a clock, but it does my sense of precision good to be able to put it right at last.

The other clock-setting problem I had was more low-tech.  The weight of the wall clock in my bathroom pulling down on the nail had caused the nail-hole in the wall to widen downward to the point that the nail could no longer hold the clock’s weight.  So I got a longer, sturdier nail and made a new hole a little to the left.

I’ve never really understood Daylight Saving Time.  Nothing’s really being saved, just repositioned.  And it just feels so dishonest to pretend that time itself has shifted.  All we’re really doing is shifting the timing of our activities back and forth by an hour, so that we can take advantage of the earlier sunrise in summer and go to work an hour earlier (so I guess it’s “saving” daylight in the sense of not wasting the extra daylight, but that’s an odd use of the word), and temporarily renaming the hours so we can pretend we haven’t shifted.  So why not just admit that’s what we’re doing?  Why not adjust the timing of our activities as appropriate to the season and let the hours keep their proper numbering year-round?

Okay, granted, that would be harder to remember, and people are lazy.  It just seems it would be more honest.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Barrie Suddery
    November 8, 2010 at 7:00 am

    In Britain the argument is that it is safer for children going to school to move the clocks back an hour so they can have that “extra” hour in the morning. Also, farmers say that the “extra” hour of daylight in the morning helps with their cattle.

    There has been a long-standing argument however in favour of staying on British Summer Time, which is the same time as the European continent.

  2. charlie
    November 8, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Now that I live in Arizona…im pleased that we dont have to worry about the time changing. It stays the same while the rest (or most) of the USA changes around us….ha!

  3. November 17, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Never quite understood the whole thing, even now. And spending a fair chunk of years in Saskatchewan watching the whole TV schedule on the US networks on cable jump this way and that every six months was its own kind of chaos theory “entertainment”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

