Home > Star Trek > DTI cover & blurb

DTI cover & blurb

Well, the final cover and almost-final blurb for DTI: Watching the Clock are up at the Simon & Schuster site:

http://books.simonandschuster.com/Star-Trek-DTI-Watching-the-Clock/Christopher-L-Bennett/Star-Trek/9781451606256

It turns out that what I thought was going to be the tentative cover:

…is actually the final cover.  It was decided that the more elaborate cover design I’d seen sketches of, which would’ve featured the faces of the main characters as well as the clock image, wasn’t working out aesthetically, and most of the characters wouldn’t have been recognizable to book buyers anyway.  So they decided to go for something more abstract.  The “cast photo” approach was basically my suggestion, since I thought it would help to give the readers a visual reference for these mostly new characters, but I guess it would’ve been rather cluttered, and this purer image is probably a lot more striking.  Cliff Nielsen is the artist.

As for the blurb at that link, at the moment of this writing it contains a minor error; the first sentence implies that the DTI is part of Starfleet, which it isn’t.  I’m told that will be fixed on the site, and if possible on the final cover.

  1. February 6, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    It now says Federation, so I guess it’s been changed.

  2. February 6, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    It still says “Starfleet” in the first sentence, which is the problem.

  3. February 7, 2011 at 11:58 am

    I’m guessing that means the DTI is a civilian branch of the government.

  4. February 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Hi Mr Bennett
    I wandered onto the Psi Phi Star Trek web page tonight and found your web page and discovered the upcoming novel….ST DTI:Watching The Clock

    It looks pretty interesting so I’m going to give it a shot.
    (Well, just one copy of course, but I’ll try to spread the word around as well)

    Anyway just wanted to drop a line and say hello- I bookmarked your web page to follow and I also wanted to say good luck on your job hunting. Frank Zubek

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

