Home > Uncategorized > Travel plans for Seattle

Travel plans for Seattle

Well, once again, reconnecting with the family means travel.  My sister in Seattle is getting married at the end of April, and I’ve just made my travel arrangements.  I looked into travelling by train, but it was too long a journey in a coach seat with no guarantee of a power outlet for my laptop, and I recall getting motion-sick on trains in my youth.  If money and time were no object, I might’ve been content to take my time driving cross-country, but on the other hand I think maybe two days’ driving in a row is my preferred limit.  So anyway, this means I’ll be flying — the first time I’ve flown since I went out to Los Angeles to pitch for Star Trek: Deep Space Nine back in 1996, so nearly 15 years.  I’ve long been afraid of flying, but after surviving several long freeway drives and being aware that I took some rather serious risks along the way (like driving in snow and fog), I’ve realized that if I can manage that, I should be able to manage taking a flight.  Still, I’m kind of nervous thinking about it.  Or maybe slightly terrified.

Luckily I’m in a good position to afford this trip thanks to the tax refund I’m getting and some writing income that I should hopefully be able to talk about soon.  The writing is why I don’t necessarily have time for a slower mode of travel.

So anyway, I’ll finally get to see Seattle.  My father visited there at least a couple of times in his life and always spoke highly of it, and my sister chose to live there.  I guess I’ll finally find out what all the fuss is about.  Although I don’t drink coffee and I don’t care for rainy weather, so it might be a tough sell.

And it turns out that part of making modern travel arrangements is that there’s a ton of e-mailed documents to print out.  Including a letter from the hotel, the e-mail with the flight information, and a huge booklet for the flight insurance.  *sigh*…  Too bad I can’t just e-mail myself there.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. LarryB
    March 16, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I’m so glad that you’ll be coming and we’re looking forward to seeing you. Seattle is a great place – you should make an effort to check out the EMP/SFM while you’re here.

  2. Sam Lane
    March 19, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Seattle is awesome! Hope you dig it.

  3. GHS
    April 11, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Any book signings/public appearances while you’re in Seattle?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

