Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > DTI has arrived!

DTI has arrived!

I was just on my way out the door, heading over to the university so I could get some writing done in the quiet of one of its libraries (something I often do when I really need to focus on my work without the distractions of the Internet, TV, etc.), when what should I see resting against my door but a box bearing the Simon & Schuster label?  I opened it to behold this:

Well, plus one more, but after I put it on my shelf I didn’t want to bother to replace it just for the photo.  The cover is darker than the images online have led me to believe:

There it looks mostly orange, but those hues are more muted on the actual cover, with the dominant color being the deep brown of the background, a hue that reminds me of dark chocolate (yum!).  It makes for a subtler, less flashy cover, which is fitting, but still a striking one.  And it diminishes the resemblance to the cover of last month’s TNG: Indistinguishable from Magic by David A. McIntee, which used similar colors and design elements (and whose cover also looks brighter onscreen than in reality).

Unfortunately, it seems we were too late to correct an error in the back cover copy.  It opens with “There’s likely no more of a thankless job in Starfleet than temporal investigation,” when it should say “in the Federation,” since the DTI is a civilian agency.  A major aspect of the book is that it approaches things from a civilian perspective rather than a Starfleet perspective, so I was really hoping we could get that fixed on the actual cover, and not just on the catalog page.  But I have been assured that it will be fixed if the book goes into reprints.

On the plus side, there was a continuity error that I only discovered very late in the process, and I’m relieved to see that the correction I requested did actually make it into the final version.  Which underlines how different the pacing of production is between covers and interiors of a book.  That’s kind of wild.

For a while now, this book has been referred to as Star Trek: DTI: Watching the Clock, but the cover spelled out “Department of Temporal Investigations.”  I was wondering how that was going to be handled in various places, like on the spine of the book.  Apparently it’s now been decided that it will be consistently referred to as Star Trek: Department of Temporal Investigations: Watching the Clock.  That’s what it says on the front, the spine, the title page, and now the catalog page, as well as the Amazon.com page.  The page headings within merely say “WATCHING THE CLOCK.”  But for convenience, I’ll probably continue to use the DTI abbreviation when I discuss it.

Now, for the rest of you, the book probably won’t be available yet for another 2-3 weeks.  But don’t worry.  As Einstein said, “People like us, who believe in physics, know that the distinction between past, present, and future is only a stubbornly persistent illusion.”

  1. April 8, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Fantastic!

    I’m definitely going to get an ebook version of it.

  2. April 8, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    I have already pre-ordered a copy from Amazon. Looking forward to reading this one!

  3. April 8, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Count me in! I’ve been excited to read this book ever since I first heard about it.

  4. April 9, 2011 at 10:12 am

    Congratulations! Looking forward to reading this one!

  5. April 29, 2011 at 8:54 am

    I just finished reading the Kindle version and I have to congratulate you on the way you tied in so much continuity from across the 50+ years of Trek into a comprehensible story.

    I thought the story about the Axis of Time detracted from what Lucsly and Dulmer were doing and I couldn’t quite figure out where it links in to the main thread. I probably missed something in the first reading (it was quite late when I finished; I couldn’t put it down!) and am guessing it’s a plot point to be picked up in future novels.

    I definitely want to see what happens next especially given Lucsly’s apparent involvement with [SPOILER REDACTED – CLB]

    I really enjoyed the idea that DTI Agents look down on Starfleet as reckless gung-ho types whose selfish desire for “adventure” makes things worse more often than not and I loved how you tied in the Relativity’s crew as part of a near-fascist future Federation whose temporal war had gotten so bad they’d invented some really harsh laws.

    I’m sensing a future conflict between the 28th and 31st centurys as Ducane now knows his organisation will be disbanded in favour of a “weak” civil liberties minded Temporal Commission.

    More please!

    • May 2, 2011 at 11:30 am

      The Axis isn’t meant to tie into the other stuff. My original intent was to do a book with multiple independent plots showing the full range of responsibilities and activities of the DTI. So Lucsly & Dulmur would have a story showing some aspects of the Department’s work (investigating temporal incidents, liaising with uptime agencies), Ranjea & Garcia would have a story showing other aspects (investigating/securing a temporal anomaly, liaising with other governments on temporal policy), Clare Raymond would have a story about her job helping temporal refugees adjust, etc. It just happened that most of those stories ended up getting interconnected more than I’d intended.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

