Home > Uncategorized > Smoothie roughness

Smoothie roughness

For a while now, I’ve been wondering why the smoothies I make at home are so much less thick and cold than the ones I get at restaurants/stores that provide them.  Recently I watched how a storebought one was made and realized that they put a ton of ice in the blender, rather than just the five or six cubes I tend to use.  I figured that had to be it, and I was eager to try it.  But it kept getting delayed by the absence of one or more ingredients — either I’d forgotten to make ice cubes or I ran out of bananas or yogurt.  Finally, this morning, I had all the ingredients in place, so I decided to make a smoothie for breakfast, with bananas, strawberries, orange juice, honey, vanilla yogurt, and Cheerios in it.  And I started by putting ten ice cubes in the blender this time.

And it proved very hard to blend them.  At first they were just not reaching the blades, then I eventually ended up with a bunch of slush at the base that blocked the ice cubes from reaching them, and then when I dislodged the slush, the remaining cubes just wouldn’t break up sufficiently.  So I ended up taking the remaining ice cubes out and just making do with what I had.  It was a little thicker than usual, but not much.

I wonder what I was doing wrong.  Maybe the ice cubes were too big.  Maybe I added too much water, or too little.  Maybe it’s just a lousy cheap blender.

Oh, well.  It was still a fairly good smoothie.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Bob Slade
    June 12, 2011 at 9:56 am

    One thing I like to do, is to cut up and freeze the fruit ahead of time, then you can cut down on the amount of liquid you put in.

    • June 12, 2011 at 11:38 am

      I already use frozen strawberries, but they’re too big for the blender to cope with. And I don’t put in much liquid anyway, just a little orange juice and a squirt of honey. Unless you’re referring to the amount of ice.

  2. June 12, 2011 at 10:26 am

    Christopher, try using crushed ice or smaller cubes. Or blend the ice cubes first, a few at a time in the blender,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

