Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > Shore Leave 33: my schedule

Shore Leave 33: my schedule

The author guests for next week’s Shore Leave convention in Hunt Valley, MD (near Baltimore) have now been issued their schedules for the con, so I can announce what panels and events I’ll be attending.  This is tentative, of course.

Friday, July 8:

10PM-midnight: Meet the Pros (corridor outside Hunt & Valley ballrooms): The annual mass autograph event by the authors in attendance.

Saturday, July 9:

4 PM: Christopher L. Bennett Q&A (Salon A): An hourlong panel devoted entirely to me, because I’ve got a lot to talk about this year.  Star Trek Magazine editor Paul Simpson (a first-time Shore Leave guest) will join me as moderator/interviewer, since this is the first one of these I’ve done and I could use the helping hand.   Topics will likely include discussion of DTI: Watching the Clock and other former works, plus new information about my upcoming Trek projects Typhon Pact: The Struggle Within and Forgotten History, and of course my original novel Only Superhuman, coming next year from Tor Books.

Sunday, July 10:

11 AM: Writing Superhero Novels (Salon E): Another opportunity to talk about Only Superhuman, alongside Greg Cox (my editor for OS, and the author of multiple Marvel & DC superhero novels), Keith R.A. DeCandido,  Michael Jan Friedman, Alan Kistler, David Mack, and Kelly Meding.  Between us, we’ll no doubt cover both original superhero prose fiction and adaptations of comics heroes.

12 noon: Time Travel in Trek (Salon F):  I’ll be joining Greg Cox, A. C. Crispin, Alan Kistler, and Paul Simpson.  Naturally I expect to be discussing Watching the Clock and Forgotten History.

2 PM: From Tie-In to Original (Salon F): One more chance to tout Only Superhuman, and to compare stories with other authors who’ve made the transition from tie-in fiction to original fiction: David Mack, Aaron Rosenberg, and Dayton Ward.

I’ve decided to drive to Shore Leave this year — cheaper than flying, more comfortable than taking the bus — so I took my car in for a checkup today.  They found the drive belt was falling apart and put in a new one.  And I noticed the difference, I think.  The car seemed to accelerate substantially more easily.  It felt like it wanted to go faster.  I’m hoping that’ll improve my fuel efficiency.  I assume a new drive belt (with “grooves,” I’m told, that had worn away on the old one) would have better traction on the shafts or gears or whatever, so there’d be less wasted energy.  They also did some kind of cleaning or purging of the fuel induction system which they said would help the mileage a bit.  We’ll see when I hit the road next week.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

