Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > Shore Leave stuff

Shore Leave stuff

I’m home!  I was going to make a second Shore Leave-related post on Saturday evening, but I still had three panels that day, and since I had pretty low turnout at my solo panel, I figured my news about Only Superhuman and my Trek projects would still be new information for a lot of people there, so I wanted to wait until I’d “debuted” the news a second time before posting it here.  And after I left on Sunday, I went to Cousin Barb’s in the DC area to stay overnight, and we went over to her friend’s house for dinner and a movie (the same friend who cooked us Thanksgiving dinner last year), and then I went to bed early and set out early the next morning and spent the whole lonnnnnngggg day driving home, so I didn’t get to post until now.

Here’s what I had in draft on Saturday night:

Well, my day feels like it’s been more eventful than it looks when I review my activity.  I didn’t go to that many panels — I sat in the audience on a writing-advice panel at 11 and a Star Trek Magazine panel at 1, then had lunch in my room and rested up, then spent half an hour or so talking to Paul Simpson about my 4 PM panel, as well as to Scott Pearson and Marco Palmieri when they showed up.  Then I rehearsed how I planned to talk about Only Superhuman a bit (and I fumbled it in the actual talk), then came the big event, my panel.  Well, big for me.  The audience was fairly small, maybe 8 people or so.  Still, it was fun to get to talk about OS at last, and I even did a dramatic reading of a scene from the book.  (Maybe I should’ve announced that in advance, but I wasn’t sure I’d go through with it.  I should’ve remembered that I’m an inveterate ham given the chance.)  I also revealed some exclusive info about my upcoming Trek projects.

The Only Superhuman news will be in a separate post following this one.  Here’s the Trek news:

Star Trek: Typhon Pact: The Struggle Within has two parallel plotlines, dealing with the least-explored species on both sides of the current political divide in the Trek Lit universe: on the Typhon Pact side, the Kinshaya (a species introduced in passing references in John M. Ford’s classic novel The Final Reflection and only seen to date in Keith R.A. DeCandido’s A Singular Destiny, the novel that introduced the Typhon Pact) and on the side of the expanded Khitomer Alliance, the Talarians from TNG’s “Suddenly Human.”  Most of the other Pact member species will also be featured to some extent.

Star Trek: Forgotten History (or Star Trek: DTI: Forgotten History, as it’s still being billed on the Simon & Schuster sites) is the “origin story” of the Department of Temporal Investigations, a group whose founding date was established in earlier works as 2270.  Naturally, the time-travel exploits of Kirk and the Enterprise are heavily involved in those foundational events.  The main body of the novel begins in 2267, exploring the Starfleet/Federation response to Kirk’s time-travel discoveries, but the bulk of it takes place in the era following Star Trek: The Motion Picture.  Yes, I’m finally getting to revisit the post-TMP timeframe I’ve previously explored in Ex Machina and Mere Anarchy: The Darkness Drops Again, and I’m very pleased about it.  Additionally, the novel has a frame story featuring the 24th-century DTI characters from Watching the Clock — and several of the DTI’s older members, the characters established as having been alive at the time, will play at least small roles in the main body of the story as well.

So to some extent, Forgotten History is both a prequel and a sequel to Watching the Clock, and both a prequel and a sequel to Ex Machina.   Yet I’m taking care to write it as a self-contained tale, something you can follow without having read either prior work.

I didn’t mention this at the con, since I didn’t know it yet, but Simon & Schuster’s site now has publication dates listed for both of these: The Struggle Within is listed for October 4, 2011 (eBook only), and Forgotten History is listed for April 24, 2012 (making it the May book for next year).

  1. July 17, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Thank you for the update on your works in progress.

    I just finished DTI Watching the Clock and loved it; I’m looking forward to sequels (or prequels). The concept is great, I enjoyed the complex structure of the intertwined stories and I appreciate the effort you must have invested to tie together so many time travel plot points from Star Trek history.

  1. July 22, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

