Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > Shore Leave leaves July (for August)

Shore Leave leaves July (for August)

From the beginning, the annual Shore Leave science fiction convention in Baltimore, the main convention for Star Trek novelists, has been held on the second weekend in July.  But the far more hugigantinormous San Diego Comic-Con has decided that its 2012 and 2013 assemblages will be on that same weekend, which would leave Shore Leave aching for actor guests.  So it’s been decided to bump Shore Leave back a month, or nearly a month.  For at least the next two years, Shore Leave will be on the first weekend of August.  That’s August 3-5, 2012 and August 2-4, 2013.  The location will not change; it will still be at the Marriott Hunt Valley Inn.

This shouldn’t have any impact on my own ability to attend the convention; as far as I know right now, I should be there just as I’ve been for the past seven years.   But as followers of this journal know, I’m hoping that my original novel Only Superhuman might be on sale in time for next year’s Shore Leave.  So pushing the convention back a few weeks slightly improves the odds of that happening.  Well, theoretically, anyway.  I’m hoping to get some information about the publication date before much longer.

Either way, though, I’ll have at least one new book available at Shore Leave 34.  I don’t think I posted about it here (though I did update my website), but it was announced last month that Star Trek: Forgotten History will be published in May 2012 (which means it should go on sale in late April).  So that’ll actually be a bit less current under the new Shore Leave schedule, but hopefully there will still be plenty of copies on sale for the Meet the Pros autograph event.

The Shore Leave site is here: http://www.shore-leave.com/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

