Home > Uncategorized > Things pasta

Things pasta

For dinner today, I had some of that fettucine I bought at the Farmer’s Market on Sunday.  It was dried pasta, but apparently fresh (or whatever) enough that it only needed 3-4 minutes in the water; it started to soften almost immediately after I put it in the water.  I’m not used to that from the grocery-store pasta I usually get.  I served it under some red sauce and precooked/frozen turkey meatballs that are a bit past their prime but still fairly good.  But the pasta was very good.  It’s made with olive oil, and olive oil makes just about everything better.

It’s certainly an improvement over the last fettucine I tried.  The thing is, the stores no longer seem to carry the brand of whole-wheat fettucine I used to have (Hodgson Mill — they still have a few other things from them, but not fettucine).  So I’ve been trying to find some alternative, and the first thing I tried was a “multicolor” variety with various vegetable flavors.  Seemed like a good idea in theory, but it turned out to be too rubbery and not very good.  So I tried again, and that led me to this pasta.  Although, ironically, later on my Sunday trip I went to a Whole Foods Market in the area and found some whole wheat fettucine at last.  In retrospect I realize I should’ve tried the local organic food store — they might’ve had some too.

But then I wouldn’t have gotten this nice pasta at the Farmer’s Market, so I guess it’s just as well I didn’t.  But now I’ve got three different types of fettucine in my kitchen cabinet.  Which I guess is not a bad thing.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. jf
    August 10, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    Mr. Bennett- I am sorry to hear that you were unable to find the Hodgson Mill Fettucine in your local stores. Were you able to chat with a grocery manager to see if they discontinued or just currently out of stock? It would be helpful to know what those stores are, with location, in order to attempt to improve distribution in your area. Thank you..

    • August 10, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      Thanks. I’ve checked at least a couple of Kroger stores in the Cincinnati area, though I don’t remember which ones offhand — the ones I visit most often are in Clifton, on Kenard Avenue, and in Hyde Park Plaza.

  2. jf
    August 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Unforunately most Krogers will not carry our Whole Wheat Fettucine or Organic. You might find in speciality stores or Meijer in Dayton. Asking the grocery manager, repeatedly, is the best way to get. If they have some of our products they may be able to order for you. Thanks for the response.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

