Home > My Fiction, Science > Yay, progress!

Yay, progress!

I seem to go through phases in my writing — sometimes I get in a groove and the words just pour out of me, but then I inevitably lose it and end up at a point where it’ s a struggle to figure out a single sentence and I just slog forward, and I keep getting distracted by other things.  I’ve been in the latter phase lately, though I’ve been making a bit more progress since the start of the month (I have to, since my deadline’s the end of the month).  I’ve had a couple of decent-to-good days so far, but today wasn’t shaping up to be one of them.  I was at a point where I wasn’t sure what came next, since the outline was vague on it.  I managed to piece about a 900-word scene together, but I didn’t know how to move forward from it, and my mind resisted focusing.  So I’d reached the point where I was ready to just give up for the day and watch more Mission: Impossible.

But I decided to wash the dishes first, since I had two days’ worth accumulated in the sink.  And while I was doing that, which took quite a while, I started to think about what I would do in the next scene, presumably tomorrow.  And I had an idea or two, and with those seeds it started to coalesce a little.  So I decided I’d sit down and write down at least those bits I’d come up with.  So I did that, but once I had the beginning, it gave me a foundation to build on and I kept going.  And so I finished the whole scene.  And then I was going to stop but I already had in mind how to start the next scene, so I wrote the start of it, and then I kept going.  And by the time I was done, an hour and a half had passed and I’d added another 1600 words to the count.  And I’m through that whole vague portion of the outline and ready to get on with the next bit.

The only downside is that it’s now 11:30 PM, later than I wanted to stay up.  I’ve been having trouble getting to sleep the past few days, and I was just starting to get over it last night.  Now I might’ve thrown off my sleep cycle again.  Which means I should stop typing and go to bed.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

