Home > Star Trek > Writing done, but supper late

Writing done, but supper late

Well, I managed to finish the scene I started yesterday and write the next scene too, for 2600 words in all today.  That’s good progress.  Essentially since I’m managing to get through the scenes in my outline more economically than I’d originally thought.  Since the first part of the novel ran so much longer than I expected, I’m having to trim this part down.  Which actually isn’t a bad thing, since the first part spanned several years and several distinct adventures in fairly quick sequence, so making this next part (which is one long adventure) not quite so long should hopefully make for more consistent pacing.

It’s a good sign when you start writing and lose track of time.  I started the scene a little before 5 PM, which is around when I usually have supper; I figured I’d write until I got hungry, then make something and eat while I wrote some more.  But by the time I finished the scene, it was after 7 and I hadn’t even noticed being hungry.

I hope I can keep up that momentum tomorrow, and beyond.  Though I hope I still remember to eat.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

