Home > Uncategorized > Google Chrome needs to learn to ask first

Google Chrome needs to learn to ask first

One thing I really despise is when my computer or its software makes me do things rather than giving me a choice.  For weeks I’ve been getting messages to update Firefox, but I haven’t had occasion to act on them, so finally it apparently downloaded the update automatically and installed it automatically.  But that’s not the worst of it.  Afterward, it told me my Flash player was out of date and I needed to update it.  Okay, so I hit the button to update the Flash player and started to install it.  To my shock, the installation dialogue showed not only Adobe Flash, but Google Chrome as well.  I didn’t ask for Google Chrome to be installed.  I don’t know, maybe there was some little box somewhere on the page that I could uncheck not to get it downloaded, but I didn’t see it, so the damn thing just forced this program on me without my consent.  So I had to wait for the long download process to finish and then uninstall the thing.

I don’t know, for all I know Google Chrome is a fine program.  But they have no right to force software on me that I didn’t ask for.  I should tell the computer what to do, not the other way around.  I’m so sick of software companies thinking it’s some kind of marvelous convenience if they make our decisions for us about what to download or update and when.  I was in the middle of doing something else, but I was forced to wait for something I didn’t ask for and didn’t want.  It was imposed on me without my permission.  I resent that intensely.  Maybe I’m overreacting, but I feel violated.

And it wasn’t enough for the damn imperious computer overlords to accept having their uninvited program uninstalled without comment.  The damn thing opened Explorer — a browser I have installed by default but never use — and sent me to a feedback page asking why I uninstalled Chrome, as if there were something wrong with doing so and I needed to defend my choice or something.  So I clicked “Other” and gave them what for in the text field.

This is why I hate advertising.  I think they go about it all wrong.  Again, for all I know, Chrome might be an excellent program.  But the more aggressively a product is pushed on me, the more it turns me against the product, whatever its objective merits may be.  I think if something is really worthwhile, whether it’s a product or an issue or a political candidate, we can and should figure that out on our own, through our own research and analysis, so I don’t trust aggressive sales pitches that seem designed to pressure us out of learning and deciding for ourselves.  Obnoxious, intrusive advertising works against its intended purpose, at least for me.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

