Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > Making plans for NY Comic-Con

Making plans for NY Comic-Con

I’ve just made my flight reservations — I’ll be going to the Big Apple for the New York Comic-Con in a bit over three weeks, October 13-16.  I’m not sure yet if there will be a “booth presence” for Star Trek novels; Simon & Schuster will apparently be an exhibitor this year, but I haven’t heard anything about author signings.  However, I expect I’ll be spending a fair amount of my time hanging around the booth for Tor Books, who’ll be publishing Only Superhuman in about a year’s time.

It was at last year’s NYCC that I learned freelance editor Greg Cox was acquiring for Tor and got his okay to send him the manuscript for Only Superhuman, and look how far we’ve come since then.  I’ve sold the book, it’s a year from hitting the shelves, and my friend and former Star Trek editor Marco Palmieri has gotten a job at Tor and done some assistant editorial work on OS.  And while I’m in town, I’m planning to visit the Tor offices in the historic Flatiron Building, one of those Manhattan landmarks I’ve never gotten around to visiting before.

And yeah, I’m flying again.  Second round-trip airline flight this year — probably second of three, since the family Thanksgiving is in Maryland again and there’s no way I’m repeating the mistake of driving through the Appalachians in November.  I kind of enjoyed the interstate drive to and from New York for last year’s Comic-Con, but it was a little bit longer than I was comfortable with, and I didn’t like the parking situation in NYC.  Flying’s more expensive than driving would’ve been, but at least on this trip I can count it as a business expense, and I’m staying with a friend so I don’t have hotel bills to worry about.  Unfortunately I have to get up really early in the morning for my flight from home to NYC.  The later available flights cost more and require going to places like Atlanta or Detroit and changing planes, which seems silly.

  1. September 20, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    there’s no way I’m repeating the mistake of driving through the Appalachians in November

    It depends on how you go.

    If you’re thinking of cutting through West Virginia, I’m saying this as someone who grew up there, don’t do it. Especially if you’re going across Interstate 68 from Morgantown through Cumberland and over to Hagerstown. It’s a lovely drive, and I won’t take that away from it, but it’s a difficult drive in the best of conditions because it’s so bloody bleak and lonely out there.

    Your best winter route would probably be across Ohio, through Wheeling, and over to Pittsburgh, and take the Pennsylvania Turnpike across to Harrisburg where you can either pick up 81 and head south to Hagerstown or 83 and head south to Baltimore. It’s a longer route, but it’s also a more heavily traveled route and the roads are better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

