Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > And…. cue end credits!

And…. cue end credits!

Why have I got the Jerry Goldsmith Star Trek theme running through my head?  Because I just wrote the final scene of Star Trek: Department of Temporal Investigations: Forgotten History, and I’m imagining the movie-era Enterprise sailing majestically away from camera and leaping into a prismatic warp flash before the end titles roll.

It’s been a blast writing this novel, because it’s let me revisit the post-TMP era from Ex Machina, and also do my first real in-depth exploration of the 5-year-mission era and the period in between.  It turned out about half pre-TMP and half post-TMP, plus a frame story with Lucsly & Dulmur.  This book will probably be confusing for some people to shelve, since it’s both a Watching the Clock sequel (and prequel) and an Ex Machina sequel (and prequel).  And there’s another series heading that it could sort of fall under too, but that would be telling.  Anyway, this book may hold the record for containing the most things I’ve been wanting to work into a Trek novel, or at least the most eclectic assortment thereof.  Many of which fall under the category of getting to revisit the post-TMP period again.  Although I’ve been just as eager lately to do something in the timeframe of The Animated Series, and while Forgotten History only spends a brief amount of time in that era, it does have a lot of TAS references.

The first draft comes out to 83,600 words, just shy of the maximum 85K I was contracted for.  I think I’ve rarely come so close to a target length.  Of course, I still have revising and polishing to do, which will probably modify the word count.  And I’ve got just under a week to do that.  Hopefully that’ll be time to make two full passes.  I wish I hadn’t slowed down so much in the middle of the writing period, so that I’d have more time now for polishing.  But that’s just the way it always seems to go for me.  Even when I start out as strong as I did on this, with the words just pouring out, sooner or later I lose momentum and go into a down phase where it’s a lot harder to focus and decide what to write.  Usually I get back into an up phase toward the end, because I have to, but it’s been a bit more of a struggle this time, and the really good bursts of writing have been less frequent this month than they were in that first week.  However, I did manage to get more than half the book written within the past 24 days, so maybe slow and steady wins the race.

Oh, hey, I just remembered a minor story point I forgot to work in.  I don’t think it’s urgent, and I’m not sure there’s a place to work it in, but I guess I’ll go take a look.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

