Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > All done!

All done!

I’ve just turned in my manuscript for Star Trek: DTI: Forgotten History, right on deadline.  My target length was between 75-85,000 words, and the draft I just turned in clocks in with a word count of 84,998 words according to WordPerfect.  (MS Word pegs it at over 86K, but I think it may be counting headers and footers.)  That’s only the second time I haven’t run over the target length range on a Trek novel (the first was Greater Than the Sum, which was toward the lower end of the target range).  And yeah, I could’ve tweaked it to get exactly 85K, but I actually achieved that yesterday.  I needed to do a bit of minor tweakage for consistency with another Trek novel, though, and that cost me two words.  But I decided it wasn’t worth bothering to toss in two more words just to meet an arbitrary goal that I already met.  Getting that close to the maximum target length is still just about unprecedented for me.

So am I satisfied with how it turned out?  Yeah, I think so.  I got to include a lot of stuff I’ve wanted to write about for a long time.  And I think it holds together pretty well overall.

But now I’m just glad to put it behind me, think about other stuff for a while.  I can catch up on the DVRed shows I haven’t watched yet this week because I was too busy working.  And stuff like that.

  1. September 30, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Congratz!
    Now get to work on those DVRed shows. If my DVR is too full it bothers me way more then it should bother any sane man 🙂

  2. Bruce Gibson
    September 30, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    That’s great news! I can’t wait to read it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

