Home > Reviews, Uncategorized > Ups and downs

Ups and downs

Well, I had a good time on my trip to New York last week, and I was feeling really cheerful when it ended, but no sooner did I get home that I came down with a ferocious cold (or upper respiratory infection?), and I’ve been feeling awful ever since.  Urgh.  Well, at least I’ve been feeling a little less awful each day, so hopefully I’ll be recovered soon.  I’ve pretty much been loafing in front of the TV for most of the past four days, whether live TV or DVR or On Demand or DVD.  And some in front of the computer too, of course, but not as much, since I can’t lie down here.  (If I had wireless, I could take my laptop over to the couch or my bed and surf from there.  I should look into that.)

It’s lucky that I don’t have any demands on my time right now — aside from things like washing the dishes (I finally did a fair amount last night, though the sink’s still somewhat cluttered) and getting groceries (I’ll probably need to make a bare-bones trip this afternoon, once it gets warmer).  I probably should’ve gone to the pharmacy days ago and gotten something to ease my symptoms, but I wasn’t up to it.  (This is the problem with living in a different city from all of one’s friends and family.  I need to make more local connections.  Or move.)

I’ve accomplished effectively nothing creatively since getting home.  I’m just not up to it.  I read recently about how the brain is an energy-intensive organ, regularly consuming as much energy as your legs would need to run a marathon or some such.  I guess I don’t have that much energy to spare.  (If that were true, though, wouldn’t I lose weight when I sit in front of the computer and write?)

Among all that TV watching, I’ve discovered there’s a new half-hour cartoon coming out based on Kung Fu Panda, a movie franchise I’ve quite enjoyed.  It’s called Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness. They showed a preview episode last night,  and the writing was pretty much on the same level as the movies.  (It’s executive-produced by Peter Hastings, who co-created Pinky and the Brain.)  They seem to be staying true to the approach of the films, keeping it in a world akin to medieval China and not littering it with modern Western pop-culture references.  None of the film’s voice cast seems to be involved, at least not in the episode I saw, but the soundalike actors they got did reasonably well.  (Wikipedia says that James Hong and Lucy Liu will be reprising their film roles, but they weren’t in the previewed episode.)  The biggest drawback is the animation.  As one would expect from a TV series, the CGI is a lot simpler and less fluid than in the movies, and worst of all, the action scenes are boringly choreographed, with mostly static camera work.  One of the best things about the KFP movies is that they work as full-fledged wuxia movies that just happen to be about animated anthropomorphic animals.  It doesn’t look like the series will live up to that, even if it’s otherwise pretty good.

Oh, wait, then again, Wikipedia says the show’s martial arts consultant is Sifu Kisu, the consultant for Avatar: The Last Airbender, whose martial-arts action was spectacular.  So maybe the problem isn’t with the action choreography, just the cinematography.  Hopefully they’ll learn to improve the camera movement.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

