Home > My Fiction, Star Trek > ONLY SUPERHUMAN copyedits are here (and other news/tidbits)

ONLY SUPERHUMAN copyedits are here (and other news/tidbits)

Things are starting to pick up with the process of getting Only Superhuman to publication.  Not only is the cover nearly done, as I mentioned the other day, but I’ve just gotten the copyedited manuscript pages sent to me for review.  Over at Pocket, this is being done digitally now, with the copyedits sent to me as a Word file with tracked changes, but apparently Tor (or at least Marco, the assistant editor who’s handling that part of the process) still does things the old-fashioned way, with printed pages delivered to me.  And it’s a hefty sheaf, over 400 pages that I need to work through by the end of the month.

And here I was just starting to get some momentum going on the reworking of my second spec novel.  I just finished revising the first of the book’s three parts (the one that’s an expansion of my first published story, “Aggravated Vehicular Genocide”) and am about to start on the second, which is the part where the revised plot begins to diverge more substantially from what I’d written before (before I realized that I was writing myself into a corner and needed to back up and take things in a new direction).  Well, hopefully I’ll be able to spare enough attention for both projects, though of course the OS copyedits need to take priority since they’re the project I have a deadline for.

Anyway, I printed out the OS cover art at about 7×10″ size and hung it over my desk, next to my own pencil/colored-pencil renderings of Emerald Blair.  The more I look at the cover, the more I like it, and I hope it isn’t much longer before I can share it publicly.  (I wonder what the title font will look like.)

Meanwhile, this seems to be my week for seeing covers, since today my Trek editor at Pocket e-mailed me the cover mechanical (i.e. the flat version of the full cover, front, back, and spine) for Star Trek DTI: Forgotten History.  No surprises in the cover art, but now I’ve seen the back-cover blurb too, and hopefully the final cover and blurb will be publicized soon.

And in other news, as I’ve already reported on Facebook, the Twitter page set up by my impersonator has now been shut down.

To prove that I was the real me, I had to fax proof of identity to Twitter, and since I’m not set up for telefacsimilating from home, I had to walk up to the nearby FedEx Office place — and by bad timing, today was just about the coldest day we’ve had all winter.  I could’ve driven, but I wasn’t sure about parking availability, and I wanted the exercise, and it was only 7-8 minutes to walk either way.  Still, even such a short walk in such cold weather can really take it out of me, and I’m still feeling the fatigue.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

