Home > Uncategorized > What to eat when you can’t bite

What to eat when you can’t bite

While recovering from my frenectomy, I’ve been having to adjust my eating habits so as to avoid anything I need to bite into, like sandwiches, hot dogs, pizza, etc.  Actually I can have those as long as I cut them into bite-size pieces (an ironic apellation for pieces you don’t need to bite into), and I have done that a couple of times, but that’s kind of awkward.

I wanted to avoid hot foods for the first few days (the instructions only said 24 hours, but I’m extra-cautious), so I made some pasta salad of my own once I used up the varieties I got from the grocery-store deli (only one of which I liked).  I used some multicolor rotini I had on hand, broccoli, cucumber, green pepper, cherry tomatoes, and canned chicken (which I figured would be softer than the frozen diced chicken I generally use) with olive oil, Italian dressing, and grated parmesan.  I made nearly five servings’ worth, so when I went to the store a couple of days ago, I picked up some feta cheese and added some of that to the pasta salad; and I supplemented the final serving with more tomatoes and cucumber.  So there was a little variety instead of just being the same thing over and over.

Also at the grocery store deli, I looked for other types of thing I could try, now that I wasn’t limited to cold foods anymore.  I came upon a tub of chicken and sausage gumbo, and I thought that gumbo was something I’d tried before and not minded, so I bought it.  Only afterward did I remember that what I’d tried before wasn’t gumbo, but jambalaya.  But I was stuck with the gumbo, so I tried it, and I’m not crazy about it.  It’s too spicy, and the pork sausage flavor is way too dominant.  I’m thinking maybe when I have the rest of it, I’ll dump the remaining feta into it, in the hope that a dairy product will ameliorate the spiciness some, and just to make it taste different.  I have no idea if that will be any good, but I have to use these things up somehow.

As of this afternoon, it will have been a week since my procedure, so I’m halfway to the point where I can start eating normally again.  Still, knowing me, I’ll probably be overcautious and wait a few days longer.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Byron Bailey
    July 4, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Scrambled eggs, oatmeal (instant is just fine), mashed potatoes, cream soups (you can pureé virtually any other soup as well), shreddies in milk (just let them sit to soften – and they are very high in fibre), tuna or salmon salad (seasoned how you like and sufficiently moistened with mayo) – for that matter ham, chicken, or turkey will work too if very finely chopped. Hope tat helps.

    • July 4, 2012 at 7:45 pm

      I don’t have to go that far. I can chew with my side teeth, I just can’t bite into anything with my incisors, since that would drive food down into the area where the procedure was done and risk irritating/infecting it. So I can theoretically eat any normal food so long as I cut it into small pieces first, or if it comes that way to begin with. For instance, for dinner today I had macaroni and cheese with pieces of my favorite tofu Italian sausage, cherry tomato, and green pepper mixed in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

