Home > My Fiction > Announcing the SPIDER-MAN: DROWNED IN THUNDER audiobook!

Announcing the SPIDER-MAN: DROWNED IN THUNDER audiobook!

Good news! GraphicAudio, the company that produced the well-regarded, fully dramatized audiobook adaptation of Only Superhuman, is doing the same for another of my books, Spider-Man: Drowned in Thunder, scheduled for August 2013. GA has adapted a number of DC Comics superhero novels before, both novelizations of comics series (many by Only Superhuman‘s editor Greg Cox) and original DC-based novels, but this is apparently only their second Marvel production and their first based on a prose novel (their previous one was a Civil War adaptation). I’m privileged that they chose my book to adapt. It suggests they were pleased with OS.

I’m glad to see Drowned in Thunder getting a second shot at life, because it’s one of my favorite things that I’ve written, and yet it’s my lowest-selling paperback novel to date. To be honest, Pocket Star’s Marvel novels probably didn’t get the kind of promotion they needed, and their cover designs (using a generic font rather than the familiar character/series logos) may have made them harder to spot on the shelves — though the striking cover art for DiT is one of the best covers any of my books has ever had:

Spider-Man Drowned in Thunder cover

So I’m hopeful the audiobook will bring renewed attention to DiT, and encourage more people to track down copies of the paperback, though those may be hard to find. There’s actually no financial profit for me in this; I wrote my Marvel novels (this and X-Men: Watchers on the Walls) for a flat fee with no royalties. But I just want more people to experience the story, because I’m really proud of it. And it should be interesting to hear it brought to life (although the voices I hear in my head when I read the book — and when I wrote it — are those from the ’90s animated series).

It should be noted that this book came out before the One More Day/Brand New Day reboot in the Spider-Man comics. It’s set during the era when Peter Parker was still married to Mary Jane Watson, and before he joined the Avengers. I assume the audiobook will also be set in that era; I don’t see any way to update its story to fit the current status quo. Anyway, there’s more information about the novel on my website here.

  1. Ezzy
    June 21, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    So who’s doing the reading of it?

    It;s also a shame that Pocket Star (if they still exist) no longer puts out any Marvel books. The license for books has been thrown around a lot..

    • June 21, 2013 at 1:08 pm

      GraphicAudio does fully dramatized audiobooks with large casts, more like radio plays. They generally don’t announce casting information in advance, but they tend to draw on a repertory company of actors from the Washington, D.C. area. So it’ll probably have a lot of the same cast as the Only Superhuman audiobook.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

