Home > Star Trek > Finishing up RISE OF THE FEDERATION: TOWER OF BABEL

Finishing up RISE OF THE FEDERATION: TOWER OF BABEL

…And I haven’t yet had my language confounded or been scattered abroad, which is a good sign.

No, that’s something else. What I mean to say is, I’m currently working on the final proofreading pass of Star Trek: Enterprise — Rise of the Federation: Tower of Babel, and for efficiency’s sake and to keep it interesting, I’m combining it with writing the first draft of my annotations for the novel, to be posted once the book is released in April. This is actually useful for the revision process, since it encourages me to examine the text critically and double-check references, so I’ve caught a few things I overlooked before.

Meanwhile, I’ve been shown the novel’s cover, which will probably be released pretty soon. It’s a definite improvement over the Book 1 cover, I feel. But I can’t say more about it yet.

I’ve also been making some good progress on my outline for my next Trek novel, which I should be clear to announce very soon, since the contract is signed and executed. Two of the main plotlines are in place and I now have a good idea of what the remaining one will be; I just need to work out the specifics. Indeed, it was just this morning that I had an idea that really helped the plot come into focus. And I’ve got another two and a half weeks to finalize the outline. Last time, I had trouble figuring out the outline and struggled to get it done by my deadline, but this time it’s going much more smoothly.

One thing that may be helping is that I’ve increasingly gotten into the habit of keeping my cell phone on my bedside table and using its voice recorder to dictate story notes. All too often in the past, I’ve had a good idea before I got out of bed or while I was going for a walk, but by the time I got around to writing it down, I’d forgotten much of it. I think dictating notes has helped me work more efficiently. Although I’m getting a little tired of listening to my own recorded voice, especially since I’m often sleepy and mumbling when I record these notes. I’ve been trying to put more animation into my voice, like I do when I give interviews, just so I don’t bore myself so much. Also, today I finally got around to copying my accumulated notes onto my computer, and was pleased to find that the format for the audio files (.amr) is playable with my existing media software. So I don’t have to worry about losing my notes if something happens to my phone. I’ve been thinking of getting a new cell phone anyway — I’ll have to make sure I get one with a similar recording function.

I’ve got some other irons in the fire writing-wise as well, but nothing I’m ready to talk about. Hopefully there will be some progress on those fairly soon. But expect another Trek update very soon.

  1. John Edgeworth
    January 10, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    Chris,

    Thanks for the update, I am looking forward your books and I enjoy the way you have been putting the Star Trek “past” in order for all of us, As always, I am behind on my reading, I have about 12 books on my read now desk, and another 7 books on the “read now, part 2′ other desk pile.
    I almost always read the Star Trek stuff first, and of course, I have my favorite authors that I slip in front of all others (yes, your one).

    So Thanks for your stuff

    John E.
    PS Do you watch the fan made, web based new Star Trek Episodes from Star Trek Continues.
    There latest full episode is “Pilgrim of Eternity” with Michael Forest, the original Apollo from Star Trek TOS episode. Take a look if you can

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

