Home > My Fiction > My website is gone

My website is gone

I’m sorry to report that my former website at home.fuse.net/ChristopherLBennett has ceased to exist. I recently learned that Google’s crawler has been unable to access the site since March 19th, and I’ve had no more luck getting through. I contacted the ISP about it, and I got a boilerplate message saying that they’d decided to stop hosting webpages as of last December 1st and that they notified their subscribers of the change — which is weird, since not only did I never receive any such notification, but my site was working fine as recently as March 16th, when I last updated it. I asked them a followup question about this three days ago, but I haven’t yet received a reply.

Whatever the case, though, my site is apparently gone now. I’d actually been thinking about moving it already, since I’ve been having intermittent problems with it for months now, ranging from temporary downtime to malware infection. Also I recently got a notification that Google wasn’t prioritizing it in searches anymore because it wasn’t mobile-friendly. But I’d hesitated to move it, because my About the Author notes in my various published works over the years have been directing people to that site from the beginning, and I didn’t want them to find a dead link.

But now the decision’s been made for me. I no longer have a site, and I need to find a new host, ideally one with more up-to-date site creation software than I’ve been using. I’m open to suggestions. I’m considering the possibility of adapting my site content and reposting most of it here on Written Worlds, but I’m not yet sure if that’s the best option. (As a test, I’ve already done so with my bibliography, which you can find as a popup menu item under “About Christopher L. Bennett” at the top of the page.) I may post my annotations for Rise of the Federation: Uncertain Logic here as a stopgap, and perhaps do the same for Hub Space, whose annotations were up for all of three days before the end.

  1. TheNewNo2
    April 2, 2015 at 9:42 am

    I will say that reading Uncertain Logic without author’s notes feels oddly constricting.

  2. April 2, 2015 at 9:50 am

    Ooh, online “liner notes” for a Trek novel sound cool!
    Good luck resolving your website troubles!

  3. April 2, 2015 at 9:54 am

    Yahoo web hosting is pretty good and affordable

  4. April 2, 2015 at 10:13 am

    I’ve used OneWorldHosting for the last decade, staying with them mostly because of their customer service. They’re very good and not very expensive, but when I have a problem, I am always able to reach a real person whether by email or phone very quickly.

  5. Bill Buchanan
    April 2, 2015 at 10:24 am

    Please find a way to bring back all of your annotations. I am reading your second DTI novel, and I love to read your annotations when I finish a book.

  6. April 2, 2015 at 10:40 am

    Yeah, it certainly was a bummer finding out that the annotations were gone. I personally cannot wait for the Uncertain Logic notes. Hopefully we’ll see those soon here, heh?

  7. Troy
    April 2, 2015 at 12:20 pm

    Sorry about your site Christopher, hopefully, you’ll have something up and running soon.

  8. Andrew Trefethen
    April 2, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    Christopher I wish the best of luck!Sent from Yahoo Ma

  9. April 2, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    I’d recommend merging it into this site if possible. You give your fans a single destination, and you have a consistent “under the hood” experience for creating the site.

    I’d further recommend changing the theme to a responsive design, so that the site is accessible on mobile devices and tablets. If you’re interested, take a look at these free WordPress.com themes; it’s professional themes that are also responsive. Goran or Motif might fit your needs very well.

    • April 2, 2015 at 4:05 pm

      Oh, now I’m confused. A fellow on the TrekBBS is urging me not to merge it with this site because he thinks blog format isn’t good for “static” content, or something like that. Meanwhile, my sister is suggesting that I register my own domain somewhere.

      And I thought Written Worlds was already mobile/tablet-compatible. I can access it on my smartphone, and it’s reformatted to fit the screen, in a single-column layout with the sidebar stuff at the bottom of the page.

      Ohh, I hate having to make decisions…

      • April 2, 2015 at 7:26 pm

        First, my apologies on the responsiveness. I checked it on my desktop, and when I resized the browser it didn’t reformat, so I made an assumption. I just pulled the site up on my phone, and I see that you have Minileven activated “under the hood,” which creates a mobile site.

        I disagree to some extent with the fellow who says not to merge the sites. He’s right that the blog format isn’t good for static content; the person visiting your landing page would see a blog rather than a professional presence. That’s why I suggested some of the business-oriented WordPress themes with the link posted above; your landing page would be oriented toward your static content, and your blog (“Written Worlds”) would be running underneath, virtually as a static page of its own. And that would give you the best of both worlds; you’d have one site to maintain and a single place for your audience to come.

        Sorry, I’m being excessively WordPress geeky. After a long fallow period, my love for the platform has been rekindled in the last month and I’ve been getting my hands dirty with code once more.

      • April 2, 2015 at 7:31 pm

        Alternatively, is there a way to reset my existing theme to change the “landing page” to a static homepage? Honestly, the simpler I can make the transition, the happier I’ll be.

      • April 2, 2015 at 11:10 pm

        Stand-alone WP allows you to reset themes to provide a static homepage and to bury your blog in its own section. You do this under the Settings > General tab. I would be surprised if WP.com site don’t allow the same, but I don’t know if the path to get there is the same. I second the view that you should combine the two and update the theme to ensure it is responsive and modern looking. I love designing in WP.

  10. April 3, 2015 at 9:14 am

    Christopher, this is the WordPress.com page on how to set up a static front page.

    • April 3, 2015 at 9:23 am

      Thanks, but I’m a little confused by the instructions. That seems to be about setting up a brand-new page and blog. Looking at the Reading options menu now, I don’t see an option for setting my existing blog as the “Posts” page. If I have to create a new “Posts” page, does that automatically include all my old blog content?

      • April 3, 2015 at 10:29 am

        Yes, if you create a Posts page, your blog posts (new and old) will go there automatically.

  11. Nick
    April 3, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    If it’s possible, could you prioritize reposting your annotations for Tower of Babel somewhere? Alone out of your Trek novel annotations, it doesn’t seem to have been saved on the Internet Wayback Machine, which would otherwise be my stopgap measure.

    • April 3, 2015 at 5:56 pm

      I’ll be doing my most recent annotations first and working my way back. So ToB should be one of the first to go up.

  1. June 2, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Leave a Reply

