Home > Uncategorized > Health report

Health report

Physical health: Perhaps inevitably, I seem to have picked up a nasty cold at Books by the Banks, so I’ve been trying to rest all week and have plenty of tea with honey, chicken soup, etc. I haven’t been able to focus much on writing. I’m also behind on my laundry, both from not being physically up to it and not having enough quarters.

Computer health: My computer’s been mostly running okay with Vista, although some sites like Facebook and io9 sometimes show up weirdly in Chrome, with bits of text and picture appearing like patchwork in the wrong places. I can clear it up by hitting Ctrl-A to highlight the whole page and then clearing the selection. Firefox works okay as long as I just use it for Netflix streaming (I’m nearing the end of a Leverage binge-rewatch). But yesterday, my computer froze while I was in Chrome, the first time that’s happened. The freezes seem to happen when I start to load something, though I can’t lock down just what sort of thing is triggering it. This time, it was when I followed a Facebook link to some news site. It may have been an ad or script on that site that triggered it. Anyway, it drives home that I still can’t trust my laptop. But the new mail client is working fine, at least. And fortunately that part where my keyboard caught fire while I was using it turned out to be a dream.

EDIT: Okay, I just had a second freeze in Chrome. It happened when I tried to close a tab containing an article I’d opened from Facebook. Come to think of it, that may be what happened last time too, since I have a visual memory of the cursor freezing up at the top of the screen. In both cases, then, it would mean that I had Facebook itself open in the first tab and I was trying to close the article in a second tab and go back to the Facebook tab. So could Facebook be the common thread somehow? Perhaps I should avoid going there except on my phone. Or at least avoid opening links from there.

Financial health: One of my overdue Star Trek writing advances is finally on its way to me, and I’m told that the other, larger advance I’ve been awaiting should be coming soon. So hopefully I’ll be able to buy a new laptop before much longer.

Career health: Hard to say. I just submitted my spec novel to an editor I’d really like to work with, but it’ll probably be a long time before I get a reaction to it, since editors are busy people. I’m still waiting for answers about another project I’m hoping to pursue.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. October 25, 2015 at 4:58 pm

    Best wishes for good health on all fronts, Christopher!

  2. Kevin Pearson
    October 25, 2015 at 9:15 pm

    Chris, you are a writer and your livelihood depends on you being able to write. Quit playing around and bite the bullet and get a new laptop. For someone so brilliant you seem to have very little common sense. Invest in your future man! Your Editor is not going to accept “my laptop is not working “. Sheesh!

    • October 25, 2015 at 9:24 pm

      What I lack at the moment is not sense, but money. A lot of a writer’s livelihood depends on being stingy. If this laptop did die, then of course I’d promptly go out and get a new one — and failing that, I could still fall back on my older, slower, less powerful laptop to write on if I needed to. So it’s not like I’d be out of action for more than a day or two at worst.

      Also, I have been sick all week, so I haven’t exactly been up to going to the store.

      That said, I am strongly leaning toward going laptop shopping once my advance check arrives.

      • Kevin Pearson
        October 25, 2015 at 9:45 pm

        How about a Kickstart campaign to help you get a decent laptop? I’d help out!

      • October 26, 2015 at 1:38 pm

        I’m not sure how to do a Kickstarter campaign. There is always the PayPal donation button on the right-hand side of this blog, though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

