Home > Uncategorized > Well, the new laptop works…

Well, the new laptop works…

Been about a week now with the new laptop, and so far it’s working pretty smoothly. I’m able to watch streaming video again, so I finally managed to watch Marvel’s Jessica Jones, which was very impressive (though I don’t think I’m up to a review right now). I’ve been able to go back to Firefox as my main browser, which has a few drawbacks, but it’s easy enough to open Chrome as an alternative when I need to.

The neat thing about Windows 7 is that it’s combined the quick-launch buttons with the taskbar, so that when you click a button in the bar, it expands in place into the tab. I like that because I like having my open tabs in a certain order on the taskbar, so it’s easy to remember which is which. Before, I had to open the programs in the right order to achieve that, and if I had to close one and reopen it, it would throw off the tab arrangement on the taskbar. Now, the tabs stay in the same left-to-right order no matter when they’re opened, and having two browser buttons next to each other makes it easier to swap between them. It’s my favorite feature so far.

The main problem so far is that the damn thing keeps trying to get me to upgrade to Windows 10, even trying to download some preliminary upgrade thingy without asking first (with small print about how additional fees might apply), though I was able to stop it in time. I really resent the strongarm tactics they’re using to try to push me to accept the upgrade. Come on, I’ve only been using Windows 7 for a few days now! If I’d wanted Windows 10, I would’ve gotten it in the first place! But I gather it’s still too new a program and not entirely debugged yet, so I’d prefer to wait. I wish there were a way I could opt out completely, to tell Windows that I don’t want to be pressured to upgrade. Don’t call me, I’ll call you, that sort of thing. But they’ve designed the system so that there’s no evident way to do that, and I resent that imposition. The more aggressively you push something on me, the more I resist it. If I do upgrade to Win 10, I want it be at my own time and on my own terms.

Oh, I’m also getting the hang of the new edition of Word I’m using. So far it seems pretty much the same as the older version in most respects, but there are some annoying quirks. For one thing, it doesn’t remember my preferred window size when I reopen it. It insists on opening in a window that’s shorter than the screen height, and I don’t see the point in that. It also takes one more step to open the file directory because it’s inserted a new “Open” screen giving a bunch of options that are mostly irrelevant to me, rather than defaulting to browsing my drive. Plus I have to click “Open” to get the list of my recent files, instead of just getting it as a dropdown menu. And I’ve had to relearn how to access the search-and-replace function. Plus the cursor’s been animated to slide more smoothly between positions, which is kind of distracting, though I suppose I’ll get used to it. All in all, so far I don’t see much functional improvement over the 8-year-old version I had been using. But the important thing is that it works, and I’ve been able to get back into the swing of things with writing.

  1. Scott D Bennett
    December 6, 2015 at 11:08 am

    Great news on the New Laptop working well. Not too fun when you have to fight to do what you have been able to do in the pass without waiting for things to work. I don’t have a Netflix account so I’m curious about Marvel’s Jessica Jones, being a fan of the Marvel franchises to date, AntMan, Shield, and Agent Carter that returns in January. I’ve seen just about all of the Marvel stuff in the theatre’s since I work for a Major chain, and not paying for a movie since 1990. Be well cousin Chris and enjoy your new laptop. LLAP

  2. December 6, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    Glad the new laptop is working out for you Chris! As for the Windows 10 prompt it’s easy enough to fix. Follow these instructions and you won’t be bothered again.

    http://www.intowindows.com/remove-upgrade-to-windows-10-message-from-windows-78/

    Kevin

  3. December 6, 2015 at 1:57 pm

    Wow, this is annoying… I did a global search and replace just now, and the new version of the confirmation box now says “All done. We made 30 replacements.” Huh? Who the hell are “we?” Is Word claiming to define itself as a person and an equal collaborator with me? Or do the programmers want me to believe there are elves inside my computer performing the search task for me?

  4. December 6, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    “Resistance is futile. Your terms are irrelevant. You will become one with Windows 10.”

    🙂

    I’ve managed to avoid it so far, but my wife clicked “no thanks” on the pop up yesterday and her laptop is now a Windows 10 machine, just like that.

  5. December 7, 2015 at 5:29 am

    FYI, In Win7 you can also drag/drop start bar tabs to reorder them. You can also get rid of the Win10 notification by uninstalling a certain update – http://winsupersite.com/windows-10/how-stop-windows-10-upgrade-downloading-your-system

    • December 7, 2015 at 7:44 am

      Thanks, I know about dragging the tabs — that’s how I got them in the right order to begin with. I’m just glad they now stay that way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

